discussions

Discussion: The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh (SPOILER WARNING)

1. If you were in Shazi’s place and your best friend had been taken and executed, what would you do? Would you let it go? Would you want revenge? Would you volunteer to get revenge?

I really don’t know on this one. Part of me says I’d accept it but art of me says I’d want revenge—not just for my friend, but for all of the “murdered” women. I’d want to do something to stop it and I admire Sharzad’s strength and her decision.

2. Can you understand Tariq’s motives? Do you think he is a true villain or is he sympathetic?

I liked that Tariq is a sympathetic villain. You can TOTALLY see where he’s coming from. His one flaw is that he’s so set in his ways, but you can see why. I enjoyed his point of view and I think it gave his character a lot of depth, versus having him be just another villain.

3. What would you do if you were in Khalid’s place and had been cursed like him?

This is another tough one. It is the decision of sparing a few lives and taking many or taking a few lives and sparing many and I feel for Khalid. No matter what, he would have to kill some of his people. I probably would have chosen as he did, but it would tear me up, just as the decision did to him.

4. Do you like the elements of magic oven into the story?

I LOVED the elements of magic in the story, and I particularly oved that they were somewhat subtle and spare, so as not to overwhelm the main story. I thought those elements were added so perfectly and gave me something to look forward to in the next book. I really hope that in the next book we can see the world of magic expanded!

5. That ending. What do you think of it? What do you make of Jalal’s decision? Were you expecting it?

I wasn’t expecting the ending and Jalal’s request until a little bit before it happened. I think it was smart, because it was the only way Shazi could be safe, but at the same time it was bittersweet. It leaves us at an interesting point.

Leave a Reply

