book talks, fun

Book Talks: How I Acquire Books

So today I’m going to be talking about how and where I “acquire” (you’ll see why I use that word versus “buy”) books. I feel like there’s a lot of talk about this with book bloggers and booktubers and it’s a really important topic. The thing is, you often see people doing MASSIVE monthly hauls or having gigantic monthly wrap ups, and you may wonder, “How on EARTH do they fund that? Where are they gettting all of these books??? HOW are they getting all of these books??? I couldn’t afford all of those books!!!”–at least, I know I do! I am not wealthy (by a looooong streatch, I am not wealthy), but as a book blogger, I like to stay fairly up-to-date and current on all of the new and popular books. So as a non-wealthy book blogger, how do I do it? What are my sources? Well, I’m about to tell you!

The Library

Yes, the good ol’ library! The cool thing about libraries nowadays is that many of them have online components where you can rent e-books and e-audiobooks. I use my library’s online collection (which is pretty up-to-date) regularly and between it and some of my other sources, I manage to stay current with books.

Scribd

This. Website. I will rave about it to anyone who listens because it is like Netflix for books. For approximately $8.00 per month, you get access to an unlimited supply of e-books and audiobooks! They have the most recent releases and popular releases and you can send in requests for books too if they don’t have a book you want! This is one of the best services I have ever invested my money in and I just love it!

Book Outlet

This is another website that I ADORE! I have never seen a book cost more than $7.99 on there and most books cost between $1.00 and $4.00 on here. It is amazing! It doesn’t have the most up-to-date stock, but it does carry many amazing and popular books like the Lux series, We Were Liars, and The Lunar Chronicles, to name just a few.

Netgalley

Now this website is a special website for reviewers and book bloggers only. Once you sign up for Netgalley, you can receive free advanced readers copies (ARCs) of books in e-book format from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This site is amazing, but you do have to be very serious about reviewing books. It’s a great place to start receiving ARCS once you’ve established your blog.

Edelweiss

This is another site that is strictly for reviewers and book bloggers as well and is much like Netgalley. On Edelweiss, you can also receive e-ARCs from publishers in exchange for an honest review. Again, this is a great place to start with ARCs once you’ve established your blog, but you must be very serious about reviewing books and book blogging.

Thrift Stores & Used Book Stores

To be honest, most of my physical copies of books come from thrift stores or used book stores. It’s a great treasure hunt feeling to walk into a thrift store or used book store and search for books! You can generally find some really good books in these places, but you might have to spend a lot of time searching.

BONUS: Thrift Books

I have yet to use this website, but a lot of people really like it. I’ve checked on here and they carry a really amazing selection of books for very cheap, so I will be checking it out more often!

So those are some of my sources for books! I hope this is helpful, especially if you love books, but can’t afford many (like me)! Let me know if this was helpful and I look forward to talking to y’all again soon!

1 thought on “Book Talks: How I Acquire Books”

Leave a Reply

