fun

TOP 10 Tuesday | Top 10 Books/Series I’m Thankful For

  1. Divergent by Veronica Roth: So, if you didn’t know by now, Divergent is my all time favorite book. Divergent changed my life–quite literally–in a massive way at just the right time because of the themes and concepts it presented. I was struggling with major anxiety and the idea that I could overcome my fears, or at least lessen them, by facing them head on and going through them, instead of trying to goaround them was a major breakthrough for me. Tris and Four were such incredible role models in this way and “Be brave” (not fearless, butbrave) became my motto. Words cannot express how much this book changed my life and I’m so grateful I read it!
  2. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling: I don’t know how anyone could leave Harry Potter off this list. It is the modern classic that defines a generation. I’ve reread this series *so many times* and it always just kept the magic of reading alive for me.
  3. The Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas: My current book obsession! Every time I read this series it whisks me away on a new adventure, to new places, with all sorts of magic! I’m so greatful I read this series!
  4. The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros: Reading this book was the first time I really felt connected to a school book and reallyunderstood by a book. The book’s jazzy, vignette style also influenced my writing so I’d say this book had a massive impact on me.
  5. Princess Prunella and the Purple Peanut by Margaret Atwood: So this book definitely wasn’t the first book I read (or that was read to me), but it is a book from my childhood that I remember loving so much. Every night, my mom and I would snuggle up, and she’d read to me and this book was one of my absolute favorites. It still brings back such fond memories!
  6. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer: Okay. So. Since reading Twilight, I’ve read vastly better books, in my opinion. BUT! I can’t deny that Twilight was one of the books that got me reading and kept me reading in middle school and 13 year old me was #obsessed.
  7. The Mortal Instruments/The Shadowhunter Chronicles by Cassandra Clare: So after Twilight I was quite lost as to what to read but one of the girls in my class introduced me to City of Bones and I became so obsessed. I devoured all of these books through my teenage years and eagerly awaited new releases. I’m still pretty obsessed and I’m so thankful that these books kept me reading throughout my teenage years!
  8. The Inkworld Series by Cornelia Funke: Every time I read this book, I am so caught up in the magic of reading! I just asdfghjkl!!! This book is so magical and is the perfect book for any reader. I’m so grateful I read it because it’s one of my all time favorite books/series! Just–READ IT!!
  9. Chronicles of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez: So this certainly wasn’t the first book I ever analyzed, but it was the first book I ever analyzed with my favorite teacher. That teacher and this book helped me realize how much I love literature and how it can mean something deeper than what’s just written on the page.
  10. Madeline by Ludwig Lemelmans: This is another book that comes from my childhood. The reason I chose this book/series is because it’s so timeless. I feel like it’s one of those classic childrens books that I’ll read to my kids and I’m thankful that they’ll get to share in and pass on part of the joy of my childhood through this magical book
Leave a Reply

