reviews

Review: The Rose Society by Marie Lu

4

So…I’m conflicted on this book. Overall, in all of the technical ways, this books was great But it just wasn’t my thing…

The Quick Catch Up: The book begins with Adelina beginning the search for followers. Her plan is to create her own powerful group of young elites to fight against the Inquisition Axis. But as Adelina journeys on, the darkness within her grows, as does her ambition. Will she survive and will she succumb to the darkness within herself?

This book was very, very dark. The book sees Adelina really embracing her inner darkness. She’s no longer a frightened, confused young girl, not fully sure of who she is or what she’s capable of. No. She knows of the growing evil within her and has, at least somewhat, accepted it. That being said, we do still see moment of goodness or hesitation in Adelina, which made me kind of want to cheer her.

I really loved the colorful side characters in this book. In The Rose Society, Adelina is building up her own group of the most powerful young elites, which allows readers to be introduced to new characters. I particularly loved Magiano and Violetta. I loved to see how both of them brought out different sides of Adelina. In fact, using side characters and the dynamics of their relationships with Adelina to bring out different sides of Adleina was something I thought Lu did really well!

This book also sees the further development of the world. Lu not only expands the physical setting and scope of the book, but also the book’s folklore surrounding the characters and settings. I liked how Adelina was always traveling throughout the book, giving the book a great pace and keeping readers on their toes.

So what went wrong? Honestly, nothing. It just wasn’t the book for me for the mood I was in. The book is (as you can probably tell) very dark and can be a little disturbing at times and I think that’s what got me. It was troubling to see Adelina travel down the road she does, but then again, she’s the villain, she’s not supposed to have a light and fluffy story. All in all, though it wasn’t to my taste, I can see that it’s a good book and if it sounds like something you like (especially if you enjoy psychological books), go for it!

The Bottom Line: A good book, though not my cup of tea. Buy it, get it, you won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

