fun

Get To Know The Blogger: Who first got you into reading?

My mom was definitely the person who first got me into reading! When I was young, she’d read to me every night and she collected hundreds of books and filled my room with them! She also got me audiobooks, including all of the audiobooks forHarry Potter, so I have to credit her with my love of audiobooks!

Funny Story: To increase and sustain my love of books, my mom would also insist that I read the book before I saw the movie, because, in her words, she “wasn’t going to waste money on a movie I was going to hate, so I had to test out the book first.” Soooo…years later I was in college and I hadn’t really read for fun for a few years because I was so overwhelmed with school. I saw a trailer forDivergent and wanted to see the movie, but I heard it was also a book. A little, niggling voice at the back of my head (which sounded quite like my mom, mind you!) kept saying to me, “Remember to always read the book before you see the movie!” So I ran out an got the audiobook for Divergent and that catapulted me back into reading and into reading YA again!

1 thought on “Get To Know The Blogger: Who first got you into reading?”

  1. I loooove that you had to read the Divergent book before seeing the movie. Oh, those voices that stay with us from the time we were young. My dad was the one who got me into reading and generally gave me my love of words by playing word games with me from the time I was really little.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

