fun

Top 10 Tuesday |Top Ten Best Books I Read In 2015

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

I haven’t yet finished reading everything this year, but this is my rough Top 10 of 2015. It is subject to change, BUT for now this is it. So without any further ado…

10. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

22328546

I loved this book! It tells the story of a world divided between the red bloods, who are “normal people,” and the silver bloods who have superpowers. Mare is a red blooded girl with superpowers. When the royal silver bloods learn of this, they will do anything to conceal it. Soon Mare is caught up in a dangerous game of power and intrigue! 

9. A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

17234659

This was the sequel to A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray and I actually enjoyed it a lot more! In this fun follow up, Paul’s soul is shattered into pieces and scattered across dimensions, sending Marguerite and Theo on a great treasure hunt to gather them back and piece them together. It was really fun and I really enjoyed the ride!

8.  A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824

This is Sarah J. Maas’s second series and it did not disappoint me. In this retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Feyre is held prisoner by a faerie lord. Super fun and romantic!

7. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

10

I loved this awkward tale of Cath, a socially awkward college freshman who writes fanfiction in her spare time. I found the story to be really grounded, human, and down to earth and I just loved it!

6. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

20560137

The tales of Laia, an undercover slave girl, and Elias, a military student struggling with his destiny, collide in this tale of adventure! Filled with intrigue and adventure, this book was supposed to be a standalone but was soon announced to be part of a series. Let’s just say I wasn’t disappointed to hear the news!

5. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

18798983

I loved this story! It’s a retelling of The Arabian Nights about Shazi, who marries the murderous boy-king and tells him  stories each night to keep him from killing her in the morning. I loved the mix of romance and adventure, and the touch of magic! Shazi is smart and strong and everything you could want in a heroine!

4. Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley

2

This was definitely the most unique book I read this year! Its kind of a cross between magical realis and fantasy, it really straddles that line. It tells of Aza Ray, a girl who is fatally ill in this world, but when she travels to Magonia, the land in the sky, she is healed. But everything is not as it appears in this seeming paradise and Aza Ray has an important part to play in shaping the destiny of both worlds she has come to love.

3. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

18692431

This was one of the most touching, beautiful stories of the year, in my opinion.Everything, Everything is about Maddie who is seemingly allergic to, you got it, everything. But things change when a boy moves in next door, sparking the desire to explore the world beyond her house in Maddie. The writing in this is so gorgeous, as well as the themes and messages and I just can’t say enough about it!

2. Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

0

It’s a lot for me to name a book as my #2 book of the year so far. But when Ihaven’t even finished the book and I know…that’s saying a lot. Not sinceDaughter of Smoke and Bone have I read such an eloquent, beautifully written, unique story. Wolf by Wolf tells the story of a history changed forever, a girl who can change forms, and a race that could change the fate of the world. Astounding and astonishing, it is worth the read.

1. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

18006496

This year, my love for the Throne of Glass series grew and Sarah J. Maas firmly established herself as The Queen in my mind, with Queen of Shadows. I really can’t say anything without spoiling the entire series but oh my god. This book was perfection. I cannot wait for the sequel. If you haven’t read Throne of Glass by now please read it!

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday |Top Ten Best Books I Read In 2015”

Leave a Reply

