fun

The Seasons of Book Blogging Tag

RULES:

  • Thank the creator and the person who tagged you
  • Begin with the month in which you were tagged and move forward from there!
  • State the best gift you’ve ever been given after you answer the question for your birthday month
  • Tag whomever you like when you’re finished… or else you’ll be ‘it’ forever
  • Have fun, of course!

SO! The Seasons of Book Blogging Tag was created by Jordyn @ J. Bookish and I was tagged by the wonderful Julia Byers at Editing Services by Julia Byers!

December is a time when friends and families come together and celebrate. Name one book you would give as a gift. 

3

Hmm…It’s cliché, but I think I would give someone Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling. Not only is it a modern day classic, but it’s a pretty easy read, especially for getting someone who isn’t typically into reading into reading!

January begins a new year. Name a resolution you made this year and if you’ve kept it or not!

NYE

I actually didn’t make any resolutions last year except to live as happily as I can. I’ve managed to do meh in that department, though. I think I could do better so I guess I kinda kept my resolution…?

February is the month for relationships. Name your favorite book relationship: romantic, platonic, or familial, your choice!

8490112

I will always adore Karou and Zuzana’s friendship in Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. I just think it’s such a woderful example of a great, healthy, supportive friendship. The girls are so loyal to each other and they don’t let anything come between them and they’d do anything for each other. It just gives me the warm fuzzies to think about.

March is the month for luck and new beginnings. Name a book or series that you would like to re-experience as if you’d never read it.

18115

Probably The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman. I read it when I was really young and I had some idea of the political and philosophical messages in it, but I’d love to read it again with fresh eyes and re-experience the magic and analyze it in depth for its deeper meanings.

April is a spectacularly ordinary month. Name a book that was so over-hyped that it just could not live up to your expectations.

miss-peregrine

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs, unfortunately. This book was so hyped up and it just really fell flat for me. I didn’t hate it, but I was just kid of “meh” about it.

May is the month when the flowers start to bloom. Name a book that was a pleasant surprise to you.

15749186

That’s tough! I’d have to say To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. I’m not big on contemporary, so I was surprised when I just fell in love with this book! So adorable!

June is the time to take a break. Name a book or genre that you like to read when you just need to check out.

iljq1c9 (1)

I always turn to fantasy when I just want to check out from life. But when that gets too heavy, I like to turn to light, fluffy contemporaries to lift my mood.

July is the time to celebrate your independence! Name a book that made you see fireworks. (Figuratively. Please don’t light books on fire.)

0

In a good way? Like made me uber excited? I recently read Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin and Oh. My. God. I am in love with it. I could sing its praises to the heavens. It’s just so gorgeous and suspenseful and unique and action packed and it has just everything. Seriously, pick it up.

August is the hottest month of the year. Pick an up-and-coming author that you think will be the next hottest thing.

4499623

I have a really good feeling that Susan Dennard is going to be the next big thing. Call it intuition or instinct. We’ll see though.

September is time for students to go back to school! Pick a book you read for school that you actually enjoyed.

I actually loved Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky and The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros. I felt like both were very deep and meaningful (although in different ways) and they affected the ways I analyze literature and also the way that I write. They made me think about life too, and I think any good book does that well.

October is time to celebrate Halloween! Pick one character that you would love to dress up as for Halloween.

16034235

Celaena Sardothien! Just once I’d love to step into her shoes (literally)!

November is the month when we’re reminded of how much we have to be thankful for. Choose one book you’re grateful for having read and give a shout-out to the person who recommended it!

8306857

I’m so thankful to have read Divergent by Veronica Roth. That book literally changed my life in a major way! It wasn’t recommended to me by anyone, though.

Birthday Bonus!

kjlkj

I honestly don’t remember the best gift I got but let’s be honest, it was probably a book.

I TAG!

Zoe @ A Daily Life Blog

Beth @ Betwixt These Pages

Kristen @ Blissful Bookworm

8 thoughts on “The Seasons of Book Blogging Tag”

  1. OOH I love the photos you used to introduce the tag!! And BILBO! He’s just my favorite. I haven’t read anything by Susan Dennard but perhaps I should.. any particular recommendations?

    Like

  2. Calaena would be a GREAT character to dress as for Halloween. And I have to agree with you on Miss Peregrine’s. It wasn’t bad but definitely not great. I think I’m going to have to check out To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so excited another person would read The Golden Compass again! When I read it the first time I was pretty young, I caught some of the religion stuff, but I certainly didn’t analyze it the way I might now. It’d be interesting to see through new eyes as an adult. Lovely tag!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

