discussions

Getting Started Blogging, Growing Your Blog, and the “First Year Fear”

I’ll admit it: I’m a new blog here on wordpress, which probably doesn’t make me too qualified to speak on this topic. But I’ll give you my two cents anyway. In the past year, I’ve begun my blogs over on tumblr (which you should check out–shameless plug!) and watched in astonishment as they grew (slowly grew, mind you). I’m proud to say that today my blog devoted to my edits and art has over 500 followers and my blog related to my reviews and other bookish fun (basically this blog but on tumblr) has almost 200 followers. And I want to thank everyone for that. But how did I get there, you may ask…

Well, basically, I had to have a lot of patience and put in a lot of work. It was a lot of making art and reviews and fun stuff really fast and getting it out to the public regularly while getting little feedback. And I’ll admit it: that’s pretty scary. But blogging is about that. It’s about patience, hard work, and, ultimately, doing what you love. I’m having to do that all over again as I set up this new wordpress. And it’s terrifying and thrilling all over again!

There’s a lot of talk about how to make you blog “grow.” I’ve read a lot of articles about it; enough to realize bloggers are obviously concerned about it. Here’s what I can tell you from my experience:

#1 Do it for love. Your enthusiasm and love will eventually bring in the crowd you want. Don’t blog for attention or popularity, blog because you want to share your love with the world.

#2 Work hard. It’s a lot of work to run a blog. Make reviews. Make art. Do memes. Get them out regularly. Tweet it, innstagram it, facebook it, pinterest it. Put the time and effort in and you’ll reap the rewards.

#3 Have patience. Seriously. Rome wasn’t built in a day, last time I checked. You have to crawl before you can walk.

#4 Interact, interact, interact! With your fellow bloggers, with your viewers, comment on other’s stuff and respond to comments on your stuff. Make it a point to always visit, follow, and comment on new blogs. Make new friends.

#5 In the words of my favorite teacher, “Take chances! Make mistakes! Get messy!” (yes that was a Magic School Bus Reference) What’s the worst that could happen? That’s right: almost nothing. People upset by your post? You’ve started a conversation and that’s good. No one reads your post? It disappears into the void, that’s okay.

#6 Be genuine. This goes hand in hand with #1, doing what you love. People like it when others are genuine, it’s endearing. Your true self will shine through and bring in the audience you want.

So those are my thoughts on blogging. Thank you all for listening and following! I hope you found this helpful

Until Next Time,

Lila

Leave a Reply

