reviews

ARC Review | Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV’s Teen Mom.

People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow.
Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma andDanny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn’t reciprocate her  feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny–perfect for fans of Katie McGarry’s novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.

(goodreads.com)

Expected Publication Date: January 26, 2015

My Rating: 3.5/5 Stars

My Thoughts:

Let me start by saying that I really enjoyed Arrows. It was a cute, quick, fun read!

I liked the characters, who I think were full and fleshed out. I loved Aaryn, who was such a sweetheart! I’ll admit, at first I thought he was headed to be a bit of an air head, but he surprised me in the sweetest way. I adored seeing how much he cared for Karma and his feelings seemed so genuine, despite the short time over which they were built.

Karma was a full character too. Seeing her consumed by her love for Danny (ugh *Danny,* who I’ll get to in a minute!) was difficult. I just wanted to shake some sense into the girl! I loved that we got to see her in many relationships, though, despite her all consuming love. I liked seeing her interact with many people, especially those who disliked Danny.

So let’s talk about Danny. Ugh. I just wanted to kill the guy! Couldn’t he see how good he had it?! Couldn’t he just be, oh I don’t know, a decent person?!! Apparently not. He just made me so mad!

*deep breath*

Anyhoo!

I thought the plot was great and the pacing was decent! I only had a few quibbles with the book. The writing contained a bit too much detail, which caused the pacing to be slightly off, but not too much. It was a little cheesy and predictable. The story gave you what you expected it to, essentially.

Overall it was a solid read and I liked it a lot! Very enjoyable and fun and I’d recommend it if you want a quick read!

3 thoughts on “ARC Review | Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk”

Leave a Reply

