Review | November 9 by Colleen Hoover

Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

(goodreads.com)

Rating: 5/5 Stars

My Thoughts: Wow. Guys. I get it. I get why Colleen Hoover is the queen of new adult. What can I say? I went into November 9 with zero expectations. Maybe even below zero. I’ve read only one new adult before–an urban fantasy–and I wasn’t a huge fan. So I wasn’t expecting to be blown away like I was. Boy was I wrong. I’m a fan now, and I adored November 9 in all its new adult-ish, romance-y, trope-y goodness.

First off, I loved the characters so, so much. They were perfect and flawed all at once. Ben is my new dream guy. He was so sweet and heartfelt and you could tell how he was so in love with Fallon. I liked Fallon too. She was quietly spunky, brave, and kind. At times, I was frustrated by her focus on her looks, but honestly, if I was in her position, I’d probably be the same way.

The writing was so much better tan I expected it to be! The story flowed seamlessly despite the time jumps and the fact that we’re really only reading about a few scattered days. It was fun and flirty, but still held gravitas somehow. The plot moved at a perfect pace and there (surprisingly) weren’t any info dumps. The dialogue was so good and so sweet, not at all cheesy or overdone.

Let’s talk about the romance. I mean oh. Em. Gee. So swoonworthy! Despite the (quite ironic) instalove element, it seemed so genuine. It was a contradiction, the shortest slow burning romance ever (because, remember, it unfolds over both 6 days and 6 years). I like how November 9 was a very self-aware romance novel. Hoover pokes fun at instalove and many other romance tropes, while still including them in her own novel, but not at all in a cheesy way.

So yeah, I loved it. I’ll definitely be rushing out to grab my next Colleen Hoover book. As for this one, buy it, get it, you won’t regret it!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Yay! So happy you loved it! 🙂 Welcome to the Colleen Hoover fan club!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      all i need is a colleen hoover button now!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sure someone has made one…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Mira says:

    Thank you for recommending this book. Now I have to figure out what new adult is . . . 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      new adult is that section between YA and full on adult, usually having main characters between the ages of 18 and 24

      Like

      1. Mira says:

        Wikipedia says 18-30, but yes, I know this kind of book. I’m just having trouble with always trying to find formulas and age brackets and topics for various age demographics. What happened to books that had something for everyone, books that are meant to be enjoyed in different ways at different stages in life? . . .

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Lila says:

        oooh! good question!

        Like

      3. Lila says:

        i think generally the reason why they do separate YA, NA, and Adult is to mark how much sex and violence they have in them (kind of like G, PG, PG-13, and R ratings on movies) but otherwise it is kinda like what you’re saying.

        Like

      4. Mira says:

        That’s a good point. Hadn’t thought of that 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

