Book Talks | What My Book Rating System Is & Why My Average Rating Is High

Lately there’s been a lot of talk in the book blogging community about average book ratings. I don’t know where or when it started, but people are worrying that if they have a higher average rating, they won’t be seen as a “serious” book blogger. I think that’s complete hogwash, tbh. I honestly don’t care what your average book rating is as long as your reviews are well written ad insightful (bias note: I do have a higher average rating). I think it also depends on what you think a certain rating means (ie: to one blogger a 3/5 star rating could be good, to another blogger it could be bad, and to another blogger it could be average). So today I figured I’d give you an overview of how my rating system works and why I have a higher average rating.

First up: What do my ratings mean?…

0 stars = complete fail

1 star = the equivalent of an F in school

2 Stars = below average

3 stars = average

4 stars = above average

5 stars = superb!

The .5’s just add a little extra to the overall rating.

So that’s how my rating system works, but you might still be wondering why I have such a high average rating. Here are my reasons:

  • After 21 years, I know my reading tastes well. Like, really well. I know what I like and what I don’t like and I make it a point to pick up books I know I’ll like.
  • Tied in with the last point, I try to avoid books I know I won’t like. Because I know myself really well, I tend to know what I won’t like. And if I know I’m not going like a book, I won’t pick it up. Why would I? Life is too short to read bad books. However, if I read a review that convinces me otherwise, I will give the book a chance.
  • I research books before I read them. I read the synopsis. I check out the ratings. I read multiple reviews from a variety of sources. That way I’ll have an idea if the book contains things I do or don’t like. Then I pick out books that contain more things that I do like.
  • I read a lot of series. This naturally leads me to reading books with consistent writing styles that I enjoy. That leads to higher ratings. I’m not saying every book in a series will get the same rating (for instance, I rated Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch 4.5/5 Stars, but I rated its sequel, Ice Like Fire, 3.5/5 Stars), but they’ll usually get similar ratings.
  • I’ve been DNFing books I don’t like. My policy is generally that if I really don’t like something, or if it can’t hold my interest, I’ll DNF it. I’m not spending precious time trying to muddle through something I hate. Unfortunately Goodreads has no DNF option and I don’t feel comfortable rating a book when I haven’t finished it (although I’m reevaluating doing that, because I’ve seen other bloggers rate books they DNF).

So that’s all for today. What are your opinions on rating systems and average ratings? Tell  me in the comments!

TTYL,

-Lila

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I usually read things I expect to like so most of my ratings are 4 or 5 stars. Unless I promised someone I would I will usually walk away from a book I don’t like.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think high average ratings can look a bit suspicious. I recently read a book which I thought was terrible. When I checked the other reviews, one particular reviewer had given it 5 stars and raved over qualities it honestly didn’t have so I checked their other reviews. Every single one was a rave review. I know everyone has different taste but personally I wouldn’t trust their recommendations. Usually I look for reviewers who rate books similarly to me (they love a book I love or hate a book I hated) and use them as my guide.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      true but that’s also why i have a high aveerage rating–if a book is getting bad reviews from most of the reviewers i like, i’m most likely not going to ead it. therefore i end up picking up more books that other reviews rate high that i would rate high and end up with a higher average rating…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I just rate the book what I think it deserves whether it is a good or bad one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

