reviews

Review | Confess by Colleen Hoover

Summary: Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

(goodreads.com)

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

My Thoughts: So I’d read my first ever Colleen Hoover book before reading Confess, so this time I was prepared to be blown away. And I’m happy to say I wasn’t disappointed! Once again, Colleen is queen!

First off, I want to say: what a unique idea! I loved the idea of taking people’s confessions and transforming them into art and I love that Colleen took readers’ real life confessions and used them in the story! What a treat! Imagine if your confession was used! Cool, right?!

I really enjoyed all of the characters. They were full of life and very genuine. They had their good side and their flaws. The villains were genuinely terrifying. Auburn was an interesting and compelling main character. She had so many secret sides to her and I loved unraveling them. Owen was also an interesting character. He was so strong and kind of stoic, in my opinion. I like him. Definitely swoonworthy. Lydia and Trey were so scary. The fact that they were the kinds of people who could exist in real life made them even more terrifying. BUT! I will say, the character development felt a little sudden. In the end, Auburn just suddenly transformed into a strong woman. I think it was meant to be that she was at her breaking point, but it just came off as kind of rushed.

The plot was good. The story moved quickly and wasn’t stilted or hindered by all the secrets the characters held. The characters had so many secrets and Hoover deals with them perfectly, leaving hints for readers throughout the story and then still managing to create a shocking reveal. And trust me, there were shocking reveals galore! There were so many twists and turns and I just kept on reading because I had to know what happened.

The romance was sweet, yet intense. Hoover builds up an irresistable love story between our two main characters. The instalove was strong in this one, which the characters do comment on at some point, but still…Then again, it is a romance novel so *shrugs*…

All in all, I really enjoyed Confess and I’d definitely recommend it. Buy it, get it, you won’t regret it!

1 thought on “Review | Confess by Colleen Hoover”

Leave a Reply

