reviews

Review | The Kiss of Deception By Mary E. Pearson

A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.

(goodreads.com)

Rating: 3/5 Stars

My Thoughts: This book has a lot of hype surrounding it, so I was anxious to read it! So let’s jump right into it…

First let’s start with what I liked. I did love the strong female friendships represented in the story. They were endearing and fierce, and I felt, an accurate representation of real female friendships. The premise was also interesting and mysterious. I went into this book with high hopes. The main issues for me lay in two things: the lack of action and the lack of character development.

First off, let’s talk about the lack of action. The book does begin with a bang, with Lia, our main character, running away, but it’s downhill from there. It felt like Lia spent the majority of the book (at least half of the book, if not more) just hanging out in hiding and I wanted to see more of her doing something. When the action did pick up, it was quick to flare out and was surrounded by a lot of info dumps. It was this lack of action that cost the story things like opportunities for character development, which brings me to my next point.

It seemed like many of the characters were stagnant, and they didn’t develop into more. One of my main problems was Lia’s character. She just seemed so…bland. There was nothing that made her really stand out as a heroine to me. I didn’t need her to be extraordinarily smart or badass or magical, but I felt like I needed more from her and she stayed a blank slate throughout the story. Kaden and Rafe also seemed like blank slates, which makes sense, as you weren’t supposed to be able to guess who they truly were or what their motives were (or rather, whose motives were whose), but that just made them much less compelling and real to me. I found the romance a bit insta-love-y and it was because the characters in the relationships weren’t developed enough to make their feelings seem deep and true. Let me be clear: I did find the characters sufficiently interesting enough to want to continue on and to want them to be developed, I just wish that had happened in this book.

All in all, this was not my favorite book. I will, however, be continuing on with the series because I do believe it has potential and who knows, perhaps the next book will be used to flesh out the characters more.

 

1 thought on “Review | The Kiss of Deception By Mary E. Pearson”

Leave a Reply

