reviews

DNF Review | Carry On By Rainbow Rowell

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters.

(goodreads.com)

Rating: 2/5 Stars; DNF

My Thoughts: I wanted so badly to like this one. I tried so hard to finish this one. But in the end I just…couldn’t.

I’m not lying when I say I’ve literally been trying for months now to read Carry On. When I first read it, I set it down in the middle, bored, and thought “Maybe I’m just in the wrong mood. Maybe if I try again later I’ll like it…” Nope. I still found myself bored to tears with this book. And I made myself a promise that in 2016, I’m not going to finish books I don’t like. So here we are.

My main problem with Carry On was that it was so slow. Rowell spent at least half of the book setting up, there was no action whatsoever, and one of its main characters DIDN’T EVEN SHOW UP UNTIL HALFWAY THROUGH THE STORY!!!

One of my other problems was the humor. It just fell totally flat for me. Granted, I’m very hard to please when it comes to comedy, but this was just silly (which I guess you could make an argument that it was part of the book’s charm, but it just wasn’t for me…).

Another thing was that it relied too much on Harry Potter references. Reagan at PeruseProject over on YouTube was the first person to point this out to me in her review, but I completely agree. The book doesn’t go one page without somehow parodying and paralleling Harry Potter. Reagan said she couldn’t give full points to a story that relies so heavily on another story and I agree. If Harry Potter didn’t exist, half of the Carry On wouldn’t exist or be relevant or funny.

In the end, this book was just not for me. I might somehow, someday bring myself to give it a second chance, but that’s highly unlikely. Sorry guys.

Have you read Carry On? Tell me your thoughts about it in the comments.

8 thoughts on “DNF Review | Carry On By Rainbow Rowell”

  1. Well this is funny coming from your other post! I really liked this story! I think we will have to agree to disagree because I thought this story was really quick, funny and I wasn’t bothered by the late appearance of one the main characters. Though the constant references to Harry Potter was a bit off putting at first, I felt like it had a strong story on its own anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It was refreshing to read a DNF review! Thanks! Especially about a book on my TBR. I’ve read so many highly praised reviews. Now, I’m conflicted as to read it or not. I’m not a fan of Harry Potter, so I think that alone might bother me. Hmm. To read or not to read… 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Aww I’m sorry that you didn’t like this 😦

    This has been the only DNF review I have read for this book. To be honest I haven’t heard an positive things from my friends. A lot of people like you were really disappointed in this.

    I hope your next read is better! Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

