The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

So going with this week’s theme of honesty in blogging, I figured I’d do a tag I’ve wanted to do for a long time and that’s the Unpopular Opinions Tag! All of these opinions are my own and I’m not attacking you or the author or anyone, I’m just stating my opinions. It’s totally okay if you disagree, in fact, I’d love to hear if you disagree in the comments (maybe you’ll even get me to change my mind if you make a good enough argument!). So let’s get to it!

A popular book or series you didn’t like.

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell! This book just…wasn’t for me, so I DNFed it. If you want more on why, you can check out my review in the Reviews section. It just fell so, so flat for me…

An unpopular book or series that you can’t help but love.

I love Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. I know this book gets a lot of hate for being cliché and incorporating a lot of YA tropes, but I can’t help but love it. It was just so addicting for me and I (surprisingly) didn’t see the twists coming.

An OTP you don’t like.

I don’t like the Dorian x Celaena ship. I’M SORRY! I just ship her with someone else and I think it’s good to see Celaena have one guy friend.

A popular book genre you hardly reach for.

That’s hard but probably historical fiction. It’s not that I don’t like historical fiction when I read it, I just find it generally doesn’t hook me right off the bat, so I don’t usually reach for it.

A popular or beloved book character you don’t like.

It’s not that I hate him, I’m just not as obsessed with Warner from Shatter Me as a lot of fans are. I like him, I just don’t love him.

A popular author you can’t seem to get into.

Jennifer L. Armentrout. I just find her writing very cheesy and juvenile and her storylines clichéd.

A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing.

The bad boy getting the girl. I really have a problem with this because I feel like it often tells young girls that it’s okay–and even attractive–for a guy to treat her like crap. And for guys, it perpetuates the whole “nice guys finish last” stereotype. So let’s hear it for the nice guys!

A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

The Darkest Minds Trilogy by Alexandra Bracken. I read The Darkest Minds and I was so bored. I just…Idk…I feel like I didn’t even read the same thing as everyone else because it was just…??? Sorry??? 

The saying goes “the book is always better than the movie,” but what movie or TV show did you like better than the book?

The 100. Without a doubt! The show is my favorite show–it’s so amazing! But it’s also nothing like the books, which are a lot more juvenile and not too interesting, imo.

 

What are some of your unpopular opinions? Do you agree or disagree with any of mine? Let me know in the comments!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. I am with you on the first three, and Jennifer Armentrout!! I actually haven’t read any of her books, but they never catch my interest. I do like historical fiction – maybe because I studied history and love when I recognize events or people? Love this post!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Lila says:

      interesting…thanks! glad you enjoyed!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I regret buying Carry on,I will never finish it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      oh no 😦 yeah, i got lucky and got it through scribd, but if i had bought it id definitely regret it. at least it has a nice cover.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha yep!I’ll probably give it to someone!

        Like

  3. I’ve only read Shatter Me so far, but I don’t love Warner either. He feels a bit meh too me so far, but we’ll see what happens when I read the rest of the trilogy 🙂 And yes, the bad boy getting the girl trope has to stop. I’m sick of seeing authors romanticising abusive relationships, especially since not everyone reading it realises that it’s abusive

    Liked by 1 person

  4. peculiarb says:

    I’m a massive fan of The 100 (have you watched the season 3 opening? Because it’s fantastic) and I was so disappointed when I read the book (it’s a miracle it was picked up as a tv series at all, tbh). I’m really glad they didn’t follow the original plot.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      me too! i did see the season 3 premier and it was so incredible! i think the premise of the books (which the show kept) was good obvi, it was just the execution was done poorly.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

