reviews

Movie Review | The 5th Wave

So I just saw The 5th Wave in theaters and…I’m happy to say I really enjoyed it! I thought it did a great job honoring the book and was really well done! That’s not to say it was perfect, but it was really good, especially for a YA movie. So let’s get straight to my in depth thoughts!

First, the good.

The movie was really well cast, in my opinion. Everyone looked and sounded like their characters and they did a really good job acting. I especially though Cassie and Ben were very well played. In addition, the filming aspects of the movie were really good. It was obvious that thought and care was put into it.

Now to the other stuff (not really bad, just  my thoughts…)…

Ironically, I thought the movie was almost too true to the book. That is, I think you definitely have a better understanding of the movie if you’ve read the book first. It could have used a bit more action. The 5th Wave and The Infinite Sea are both kind of quiet, contemplative, yet intense novels and I think you got that feel from the movie, but that intense mood also caused the movie to slow down a bit.

I wish we had gotten to know the characters better and that the relationships, especially Cassie and Evan’s, were more developed. It felt like the movie went really fast (it was only an hour and a half, so standard length) and the character and relationship development suffered because of that.

So that’s it! The jury’s still out as to whether or not it’ll get a sequel, but I hope so! Overall, I really enjoyed it and I’m glad it honored the book!

7 thoughts on “Movie Review | The 5th Wave”

  1. I haven’t read the book yet but enjoued your review of the movie. I wasn’t auper interested in seeing it before, but now I am, especially if the acting is good. Unfortunately, that isn’t always the case with YA movies.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I saw it for the 3rd time in cinemas I absolutely loved this movie haven’t read the book yet but I’m sure ill love it. I wrote about it on my blog and mine was okay but I really enjoyed reading your review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

