fun, Uncategorized

Top 5 Wednesday | Disappointing Eye Candy

Top Five Wednesday is hosted by gingerreadslainey over on YouTube!

This week’s topic is one I love because it’s all about books whose covers drew you in, but whose insides weren’t so great. As an artist, I can’t help but be drawn in by a book’s cover. BUT it sees the old adage “never judge a book by its cover” reigns supreme. Here are some books with gorgeous covers who disappointed me

  1. Incarnate by Jodi Meadows:  This is one of the prettiest cover I’ve ever seen. The gradient. The butterfly. Just–gah! So pretty! Unfortunately, I didn’t find the actual book as enthralling. 😦
  2. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge: Gorgeous cover BUT I found the characters unlikable and the story slow.
  3. Talon by Julie Kagawa: This is a gorgeous cover–I mean, look at that texture! Unfortunately the story is really boring in my opinion.
  4. The Heir by Kiera Cass: All of the covers of The Selection Series books are pretty, but this one is my favorite. To bad I absolutely can’t stand the main character of this book…
  5. The Jewel by Amy Ewing: So I guess I have a thing for girls in purple ball gowns on covers. Unfortunately I found this story really…weird? Bad? Idk, but I didn’t like it…
  6. Honorable Mention # 1–The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson: The story is bland, though the cover is anything but.
  7. Honorable Mention #2–Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan: The cover is intriguing and mysterious, but the book fell flat for me.
  8. Honorable Mention #3–The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings: This cover looks intense (that coloring tho….) but the book wasn’t.
1 thought on “Top 5 Wednesday | Disappointing Eye Candy”

Leave a Reply

