discussions

My Take | On Whether Or Not Reading Speed Makes You A “More Superior” Reader

I make it no secret: I am a slow reader.

Part of it is due to my health. But I’ve also always been a slow reader. I’m talking maybe 10 pages per hour. Sloooooooooooooooowww. I drive my friends who like to read over my shoulder insane, but I digress.

The point is this: Sometimes I feel bad for being a super slow reader. Yeah, I know, I have a health condition, but come on! Why can’t I just read faster like all of the other bloggers. It makes me ashamed when I see other bloggrs flying through 7-10 books per month when I’m struggling to finish one.

It even makes me hesitant to request ARCs or sign up for tours. After all, how can I guarantee I’ll finish the book by the deadline? (News flash: there are plenty of ARCs I haven’t finished by deadline because of this and it’s never killed me or set me back)

You see my problem.

But I didn’t feel this way before blogging. See, some bloggers wear their reading speeds as badges of honor. “I read 17 books this month.” Their badge proudly reads. And I’m not here to knock them. I’m proud of and happy for my friends who can do this. But I think we, book bloggers, as a community, have this false idea that the faster you read and hence the more you read, the better a reader and blogger you are. And that’s definitely not true.

I may be a slow reader, but that in no way affects my status as a reader or blogger. In fact, sometimes it’s good to be a slow reader. You can take in more, soak up more of the world, and analyze more details in a more in depth way. See? Good things you tend to lose if you read faster.

I guess what I’m trying to get across here is that it’s not really how fast you read that matters. It’s how much you put into reading, and, in turn, what reading gives back. So read on, sloth readers, and be proud to be just as good a reader as anyone else!

17 thoughts on “My Take | On Whether Or Not Reading Speed Makes You A “More Superior” Reader”

  1. Totally agree with you! I think of myself as a ‘fast-reader’ but I know I’m not the faster and I don’t want to be. It just happens I read fast and then I read more books. But sometimes, some books take me a lot more of time and that’s fine for me too.
    As you said, any of this (being a slow or fast reader) makes you better blogger or reader. There are other qualities (at least for me) like being honest, or critic (not necessarilyin a bad way).
    I know this post is meant to encourage all those ‘slow-readers’ but I believe the thing that matters is that we are readers, despite how fast we read, and our love for books.

    Like

  2. I am also a slow reader (maybe 3-5 books read a month, sometimes even less) & I think before blogging I wasn’t as worried. But that’s one of my main goals this year — to stop comparing myself to other bloggers/readers. Great post! 🙂

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for writing this! I always feel the pressure weighing down on me to read a gazillion books per month ever since I started this blog, but that’s just not me… and that’s never been me. I’m such a slow reader– like maybe two books a month if I’m feeling super motivated.

    It definitely shouldn’t matter how many books you read. Only how much fun you’re having. Because when pleasure reading becomes a chore, you’re in a bad situation.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It shouldn’t matter at all about how many books in a month. If you have only read two-three books it doesn’t matter because that’s what you could read that month not anyone else. I sometimes feel like if I read a book and it takes more than three days to finish that book that I should be ashamed. I shouldn’t and I think psychology we have to change the way we view reading . As soon as it gets stressful you should stop reading and reevaluate why you like reading so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I so agree with you–HOW MUCH you read a month doesn’t matter, it’s how much you enjoy what you read and how much you take away from the stories. I’m a very fast reader…but I get a LOT out of my books. I don’t speed-read just to get through the book…it’s something that comes naturally. *shrug* I feel everyone should be comfortable reading at their own pace, because their own pace is awesome and that’s what’s right for them.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You! And I! Are kindred spirits. ^.^ I am also an extremely slow reader. I’m lucky if I finish 3 books a month while other bloggers are pounding out 12. And while I am amazed at their ability to read that many books, I also remind myself that a) I don’t have the time to sit and read constantly. I got other hobbies. And b) if I’m reading an ARC for review, I want to take my time, to really define my opinion of the book so that I can give an honest review.

    Besides, this isn’t a competition. Reading books is meant to be fun. Reviewing books is meant to be engaging. But it should never feel like a race or feel like we’re lagging behind. I try to post one book review a week, but sometimes that doesn’t happen and I’ve learned to be okay with that. After all, some of my books are longer. (I just finished reading A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin(1000pages)) But whatever the case, I’m just happy that I get to read, share my opinion, and discuss with countless other readers out there who love it as much as I do. ^.^ Keep reading! Whatever pace that may be.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great post! Personally, ever since I’ve been little, I’ve always read faster than most people. It’s not something that I control- but no one believed me. I am the type of person who can read multiple books in one day, but I don’t think that makes me a better reader. Actually, growing up, most people argued with me and thought that there was no way that I actually read the books, and it caused lots of frustration and arguments. 😦 Honestly, I think there are good and bad things about being a fast or slow reader. Thanks for bringing up this subject!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. interesting. i never thought about the problems being a speed reader could bring up but i guess it can be problematic too! i’m so glad to see though that the general consensus is that it’s the love of reading, not the speed that makes the reader!

      Like

Leave a Reply

