My Take | On The Great Pottermore Crisis: A Divergent’s Take

I know, I know. I mixed fandoms in my header but what can you do?

Anyhoo!

So the HP fandom has exploded recently over the Pottermore sorting quiz going back online. Why is this a big deal? Well Pottermore is giving members the chance to either reclaim their old house or retake the sorting quiz. A lot of people took the second option and retook the sorting quiz and…Well…let’s just say a lot of people are now really confused.

See a lot of people are getting resorted into different houses than they were originally sorted into. You can see the problem.

Now I’m not unfamiliar with this problem. My first Pottermore account sorted me into Slytherin. BUT! I lost all the info for that account and had to rejoin Pottermore and was then sorted into Gryffindor. On a side note, non-Pottermore quizzes always sorted me into  Ravenclaw and Hufflepuff. Some called me confused. But I think another fandom came up with a better name for what I am: Divergent.

im-divergent

But seriously. Maybe I just don’t fit into one category. And you know what? Maybe I don’t want to. I want to be smart and brave and kind and ambitious. And maybe I am. Or maybe I’m only one or two of those things (who knows which). But I don’t like the idea of limiting myself to just one.

And in an age in which J.K. Rowling herself has acknowledged the existence of so called “hybrid houses” that’s a possibility. In fact, I think the existence of hybrid houses justifies being sorted into two separate houses (or three or four, in my case). And maybe that’s not a bad thing. Maybe that just means you’re well rounded.

How can this happen though? Maybe it is, to quote a great wizard, “our choices that show what we truly are, far more than our ability.”

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Beautifully said! At least you got in all of the houses. You get four homes, while others like me only get one.
    I always end up in Ravenclaw for some reason, but deep inside, I love Ravenclaw with all my heart. I’m lucky enough to end up in Slytherin once.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      aw thanks! i never thought of it that way, having more than one home. i always thought of it more as being homeless, but i like your way of looking at it. you’re lucky to be in ravenclaw and have a place to belong!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with this so much!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I reclaimed my house and I don’t get why to take up the quiz again when you know which house you belong to. Isn’t that like cheating? And apart from a few times when some non Pottermore quizzes put me into Gryffindor I’ve always been in Hufflepuff. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      i think a lot of people just expected to get the same thing.

      Like

  4. I did a combination of the two choices. Firstly, I reclaimed my old house because I had my member named saved in a note. Then I got curious to see if I’d get sorted in a new house (I was hoping for Ravenclaw because I was so close to it the last time I took a quiz), but I ended up in Gryffindor again. I’ve never gotten anything but Gryffindor on any quiz! I’m proud of it. I do see myself as a Gryffindor, even if I’ve got the brains of a Ravenclaw.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

