My Take | On Changing Your Book Ratings

I’m not gonna hide the fact that this has happened to me. I’ll like (or dislike) a book right after I read it and rate it high (or low) on Goodreads. But then. Then I consider it more, maybe read a few reviews that oppose my initial take on the book. And slowly but surely, my opinion begins to change. I rush back to Goodreads and quickly change my rating (hopefully before anyone sees I initially rated it something else)! Phew! That was close!

This has happened to me on several occasions, but I’ll give you two main examples.

The first example is of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. When I first read it, it wasn’t my favorite. I rated it maybe a 2.5, 3 stars out of 5. But slowly (and I mean, like, over months) I found myself changing my mind. As I read more contemporary books and compared them to Fangirl, I found myself realizing that Fangirl was actually really good. More than that, other people’s love and enthusiasm for the book seeped into me. If I went back and reread Fangirl today, I think it would probably get a 3.5 or 4 stars from me. It even ended up on my favorite books of 2015 list!

My second example is of A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. When I first read this book I was *in love* with it! I raved about it! It was incredible in my eyes! Immediate 5 stars! But over the following months, as the hype died down, I began to see more and more negative reviews for the book. The final nail in the coffin was probably Marines’s (from My Name Is Marines over on YouTube) review of ACOTAR. She made some really good points against ACOTAR. Now I don’t hate the book, but it’s no longer a book I’d rave about. If I read it today, I’s probably give it a 3 out of 5 stars.

So you can see, even I’m not free of rating changes (though usually they occur over months versus hours). Why does this happen? I think it’s a product of being a rational human being, honestly. Being reasonable means being flexible and being flexible means being willing to change your opinions if an opposing argument is sufficiently compelling.

What do you think? Have you ever changed your rating of a book? Why? Do you think it’s okay to change your rating of a book? Also, if you change your opinion on a book you reviewed, do you rewrite/write a new review?

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Tasha says:

    This happens to me too! You have no idea how relieved I am to see someone else with the same issue.
    I read Red Queen last month, I think, and after reading it I was ready to give it 3/3.5 stars. The thing is I can’t get the book out of my head and now, it seems like a 4 star book. Rating isn’t the most important part of a review to me, but it is effected by my opinion of the book (strengths and weaknesses), which seems to change a lot with time.
    I agree with you as to why this happens. When you’re willing to see things in other people’s perspective, your stance on something can be changed.
    This is a great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      thanks tasha! i’m glad to see i’m not alone!

      Like

  2. Yes! Once you start on a genre especially! I thought I wouldn’t like YA books, but now I dont mind them after much debate. I think we need sometime to process it in relation to all the other books in the world. Also its a process of growing, I disliked Emma by J.Austen 5 yrs ago but now I understand why its so well loved, and I wouldnt be ashamed to change my review.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      precisely! we grow and change and so do our opinions! we shouldn’t shame people for it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Christine says:

    This is also happens to me too. For example, after I read the book i’ll give that a low star and as I finalizing my thoughts on that book I realized that I really loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      i guess it’s not so rare as i thought 🙂

      Like

  4. I think people are free to change their ratings on a book even though I don’t. I normally feel pretty sound about my views on a book because I do a good points vs bad points on my reviews at the end.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      i think generally if i have a pretty balanced review, you’re probably less likely to change your ratings. that’s just my experience

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Same thing happened to me with ACOTAR. Loved it when I first read it but then I sat down to really think about it and found a lot of things that really bothered me and I wasn’t a fan of and then I changed my rating

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      same here. i wonder if it’s just that book?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think it may be a Sarah J. Maas thing haha

        Like

      2. Not for me, mostly for other people haha

        Like

  6. mxnsgl16 says:

    I do this all the time, too! Sometimes I even hold out a while on rating a book to let everything settle in my mind. A lot of the time I get so caught up in the ending and how much excitement and love I had for it that It clouds my opinion of the book. Once the heat of the moment kind of feelings wear off though I can remember exactly what was good and not so good about a novel and I think that helps a lot. 🙂 Glad to see I’m not the only one who’s opinion needs time to settle!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      i relate so much to this. there are some books that i’ve held out on reviewing just to make sure my opinion is solid!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

