fun

Top 10 Tuesday | Songs I Wish Were Books

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. I was so excited to see this week’s topic was a music themed freebie and one of the suggestions was “Songs You Wish Were Books!” What a great topic! So here are my picks and a playlist for you!

  1. “Castle” by Halsey: I love the ominous mood of this song and the lyric, “I’m headed straight for the castle/They wanna make me their queen.” That lyrics just brings such an image of rebellion and storming a castle to mind! Agh! What a great story!
  2. “Love Story” by Taylor Swift: This song obviously lends itself to storytelling really easily. The song compares Taylor’s love to great love stories over time. Imagine a book tying together a modern romance and all the great love stories of history (and yes, I know there’s A Game of Love and Death).
  3. “Bad Blood” by Taylor Swift: Once friends, now enemies! What a perfect recipe for a great story!
  4. “Run the World (Girls)” by Beyonce: Who doesn’t love a good ol’ tale of feminist empowerment? It would especially be perfect if it was a fantasy!
  5. “Bad Girls” by M.I.A.: This is in the same vein as “Run the World (Girls), but I picture it as some sort of Middle Eastern Western (Rebel of the Sands much?).
  6. “Waiting Game” by Banks: A tale of angsty lovers torn apart, forced to play a waiting game!
  7. “Bad Romance” by Lady Gaga: For some reason I picture this as a mixture of sci fi and cheesy rom com–what a mix!
  8. “Gold (Flume Re-Work)” by Chet Faker: I just picture this song translating into something very ethereal.
  9. “The Seal Lullaby” by Eric Whitachre: This is a choral song but I just picture it as a story of magical seals and a little girl by the sea.
  10. “Run Boy Run”’ by Woodkid: This song brings stories of bravery and facing your fears to my mind.
7 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday | Songs I Wish Were Books”

Leave a Reply

