discussions

My Take | On Celebrity Bloggers

Today we’re gonna be discussing so called “celebrity bloggers.” This topic has been going around a lot lately in the book blogosphere, so I figured why not throw in my opinion! I have to give props to Cat at Let The Pages Reign for giving me the idea with her own discussion.

So let’s start with some definitions. What exactly is a celebrity book blogger, you may be asking. Well, to be honest, nobody really seems to know. The notion connects with that of massive popularity, on your blog and usually on social media. Along with this popularity usually comes connections to authors and/or the publishing community. And ARCs. Lots of ARCs. Many other bloggers may also look up to you and aspire to be you. Usually you’ve got huge following on your blog.

I’m gonna go out on a limb here and say that, from what I’ve seen, depending on who you talk to, people name two or three consistent heavyweight “celebrity book bloggers, but diverge when the list continues further. You know what that tells me? For the most part, we all see different people as celebrity bloggers.

Now, I wouldn’t say I have celebrity bloggers, but there are bloggers I look up to. To name a few:

  • Nori at ReadWriteLove28
  • Hannah at The Irish Banana
  • Cait at Paper Fury

What do these bloggers have in common? Some may say it’s their large number of followers or connections to authors and/or the publishing world. But for me, it’s not that. What I see that they have in common is this: passion, dedication, friendliness, and generosity.

See, in this generally very kind and hard working world of book bloggers, people sense sincerity. And that’s what our favorite bloggers have. Sure, they may have other things as well like those big follower counts or connections, but those all stem from their sincerity. They would have none of those “perks” if it weren’t for the being the wonderful human beings they are.

So if you aspire to be like your favorite blogger, I guess this says, it’s not too hard to become. A little patience, a lot of hard work, and more than your fair share of passion and you’ll be on your way!

Do you think there’s such a thing as a celebrity blogger? What criteria qualifies you to be a celebrity blogger?

6 thoughts on “My Take | On Celebrity Bloggers”

  1. I think there are many questions people will give different answers to. For example, how many ARCs is a lot of ARCs and how many followers are a lot of followers! I think if you are friendly, consistent and and interactive with your followers and become popular over that, that makes you a celebrity blogger.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I completely think that celebrity bloggers exist. But they don’t know it. I never really realized that these celebrity bloggers aren’t trying to be famous they just are where they are because of their passion. And I will be completely honest, IT CAN BE SO HARD SOMETIMES TO REMEMBER WHY I BLOG. This happens mostly when I get bad pageview days, which does happen often and well – it makes me feel like I suck. Great post Lila! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

