fun, music

The Book Theme Meme

Hey y’all! Welcome!

This is the first post for my new weekly meme, The Book Theme Meme! I love music and I love books, so I figured, “Why not put the two together and create a fun meme for everyone to participate in?” Let me explain a little. Here are the rules of the game:

  • Link back to the originator (me, Lila @ The Bookkeeper’s Secrets)
  • Choose a book or book series.
  • Choose a song you feel like represents the book (fyi: it doesn’t have to have words, it can be classical or a score).
  • Post the book/series and the song.
  • Tell us what about the song reminds you of the book. Is it a particular lyric/s? Is it the general feeling of the song? Explain a little.
  • Leave a link to your post in the comments of my weekly post so we can find your post!

So let’s get to it.

I figured I’d start easy and go with the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. My song is “Castle” by Halsey. There are a lot of reasons why I feel like this song fits this story. Just in general, the song has a sort of “storm the castle!” feel to it with the ominous swell of the music and the choir singing. Then there are the lyrics…

I’m headed straight for the castle/ They wanna make me their queen

All through the Throne of Glass series, there is this steady, ominous sort of march toward the throne and these lyrics really get at that theme. I just think overall the song is a perfect theme for the series!

16034235

 

17 thoughts on “The Book Theme Meme”

  1. The Youtube ad before the song was for The Huntsman Winter’s War, and with the trailer song I thought “Man, this sounds like it would go with Throne of Glass” and then Halsey’s Castle came on and I was like “THAT’S IT!!”

    Haha, perfect choice Lila!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

