discussions, fun

My Take | Guys. The Hype Finally Got Me

I HELD OUT FOR THIS LONG!!!

BUT IT FINALLY GOT ME!!!!

I was never afraid of hype.

So people love a book and they want to share about it all the freakin’ time. The more the merrier! Big deal, right?

But then…

It happened.

There was a book so hyped that it just had to be out of this world to live up to it. There was a book I could not wait for. I was on the edge of my seat, pee myself excited. There was…

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard.

Yes, ladies and gents. The book we’ve all been waiting for for over half a year. The book everyone in the book blogosphere has been nonstop incessant talking about. The book that has never before received lower than a 4/5 star rating (okay that’s going a little far, but seriously, I’ve, like, never seen a bad review for it???).

It got me. Pierced my heart. Spoke to my soul. Deceived my mind.

I thought I would love it.

After all, everyone loved it. How could I not?

Oh, boy, was I in for a shock.

I’m only halfway through the book but I’m practically dragging myself through it. It’s put me in a serious slump.

That’s right folks: After all that build up, I’ve been let down.

Now you may think I’m being a tad bit melodramatic here, but consider this: this is the book that for over half a year, I was told I was gonna love. For over half a year, I was told it was second only to Throne of Glass, which is my favorite high fantasy series. That’s a lot to live up to.

And you know what?

I’m beginning to think all of the build up to Truthwitch did it a disservice. It took that certain air of mystery out of the release. It made to book so big that there was no way it could live up to expectations.

Hype can be a great marketing tool, but I think after a point it goes back to that (very wise) saying, “Everything in moderation.” Too much hype and a book loses its mystique. Too much hype and people get sick of hearing about the book. Too much hype and people are let down when they finally read the book and aren’t going to want to continue on with the book or the series.

What do you think of hype? Is it a worthwhile marketing tool? Or is it more problematic in the end? Has the hype about a book ever gotten to you?

22 thoughts on “My Take | Guys. The Hype Finally Got Me”

  1. there there, I haven’t heard about it much, but could I offer you a hot beverage to soothe you nerves??
    The problem is, we tend to believe everything media is telling us. Maybe we should stick to making our own opinions rather than joining the crowd. Some people enjoy a certain genre, some people dont. Hype helps the authors to get publicity probably, but if the readers are disappointed, well the pressure is sure on.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *takes hot beverage and fumes silently*
      there definitely is a group mentality to hype and people don’t want to get left out, which is why i think it’s so tough when a book doesn’t live up to that hype.

      Like

  2. I completely agree with you! I read the preview on NetGalley. I enjoyed it so much, I even brought the book. However, I keep seeing criticism about the worldbuilding. I feel like we need a guide to the world because there’s a new word for everything and it’s hard to keep up.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It depends on the amount of hype, but if there’s a lot of hype (there was for Truthwitch, I saw it everywhere!) your expectations get waaaay too high and a book that you might’ve enjoyed without the expectations will be less enjoyable because you think it was going to blow you away (at least in my experience!). I’m sorry that you’re not enjoying it though 😦 *virtual hug*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. There are certain instances wherein the hype is absolutely right. Like for Harry Potter, Throne of Glass, etc. But in most cases, I find it to be either a hit or a miss. I was looking forward to buying a copy of Truthwitch myself but I’m taking a bit more time to decide now that I have read this. But thank you for this honest review. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hype has never had much affect on me. I’m excitable on my own so I’ll hype up a book to the ends of the earth regardless of how much a book is hyped up by bloggers, reviewers, friends and the publisher, lol. My issue is that BECAUSE I hype a book so much ON MY OWN, lol, that I easily get disappointed. I’ll expect SOO much and then it’ll fall so below my mark and then I don’t want to talk about it with anyone, lol. But I def know can understand what you’re talking about. If EVERYONE is going on and on about a book and then it just isn’t what you wanted it really is disappointing. Something I try to do to avoid the hype is to avoid reading the synopsis and go into books blind. IDK, that’s just me. I like being surprised and let books disappoint me or blow me away on their own.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I totally recommend going in blind. It’s a bit shocking at first, and I’m not going to lie, I’m really brutal on a book when I go in blind. But if the first few pages (actually first page) can catch me when I go in blind then the ride is amazing and super worthwhile, as opposed to relying on premise to finally deliver at some point in the storyline.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I can completely relate. Hyped up books like that terrify me. I had this with The Girl on the Train. I saw it everywhere! Everyone told me that is was EPIC and AWESOME and all that other stuff. Omg what a disappointment. Since then I’ve been even more cautious about hyped books. Its to the point where I’m scared to have expectations for a book. With every new release that’s promoted like crazy I’m like “is it REALLY?!”. Sooo yeah. It guess we will never be able to get rid of this and well just have to live though the bad consequences 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

