fun

Top 5 Wednesday | Books That Feature Time Travel

Top 5 Wednesday was created by ginerreadslainey over on YouTube! This week’s topic is “books that feature time travel.” Time travel appears to be a growing hot topic this year in YA lit! Here are my picks:

Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor

My current read and a recent debut featuring time travel! This one is pitched kind of as the YA Outlander, which is correct if you only look at the setting and the loose time travel aspect. But there’s so much more to it than being a YA ripoff of a great adult series. It’s a lot more science-y and a lot less sexy from what I can tell. It’s super fun all around!

The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

This book, which I just finished, features a magical ship which can travel to any place, real or imagined, in time and spacec as long as the captain has a map of it. Lyrically written, featuring vivid settings and colorful characters, The Girl from Everywhere is a must read from a promising debut author!

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

This is one I haven’t read yet, but I know includes time travel. Again, it’s a time traveling ship in this one (small world). From what I can tell, you get a lot more background on the details of time travel in this one, so it’s perfect if you like stuff more well rounded and explained.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

This is an abvious one, though I have yet to read it. Featuring Claire Randall, who is mysteriously transported back to 1700s Scotland (I believe), I have yet to meet anyone wh dislikes Outlander! A fun time for all!

Timebound by Rysa Walker

This is a lesser known time travel story, but a good one. I read this a while back, but I remember it being pretty interesting all the same.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Books That Feature Time Travel”

Leave a Reply

