fun

Books/Series I’m Not Going To Finish

I didn’t realize it until writing it down, but apparently I have a ton of books/series that I’m not planning on finishing.

  1. The Mara Dyer Trilogy by Michelle Hodkin: I read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer about a year ago and it was good, BUT nothing about it really distinguished it from other paranormal romances for me. It just seemed so…typical. So, yeah, I don’t think I’ll be finishing it…
  2. The Across the Universe Trilogy by Beth Revis: I got about 1/4 through Across the Universe and I hated it. DNFed it. It was just so boring! Nothing happened by the first 100 pages–no plot, nothing developed!
  3. 99 Days by Katie Cotugno: hated this book. There was so much slut shaming (including self slut shaming, which I didn’t even know was a thing until I read this book….). As a woman human being, I couldn’t take it. I DNFed this book and I know I’m not going to give it a second chance.
  4. The Beautiful Creatures Series by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl: I read the first book my freshman year of high school. Now I’m a junior in college. I think it’s safe to say I’ve waited a bit too long to finish this series. Plus I tried the second book and didn’t like it and the series just keeps going on and on and on and into spinoffs.
  5. The Wings Series by Aprilynne Pike: Also a book I read a long time ago. It was cute but I’m pretty sure I’ve outgrown it.
  6. The Maze Runner Series by James Dashner: I was spoiled for this one. Like majorly spoiled. Like in depth, in detail spoiled. And here’s the thing. I’m a science major. I like things to be at least somewhat rational and logical and reasonable. And from what I hear the ending is…not. Like majorly not. So after I heard the ending I totally lost interest…
  7. The Delirium Trilogy by Lauren Oliver: I made it through two and a half of these books and by the time I’d made it halfway through the last book, it just left a bad taste in my mouth. Idk why, but I just stopped liking it.
  8. The Unearthly Trilogy by Cynthia Hand: Also another read I read long ago and think I’ve outgrown…
  9. The Hush Hush Saga by Becca Fitzpatrick: I read the first book of this and oh boy. Talk about cliche riding on the coattails of Twilight. Not gonna happen.
  10. The Matched Trilogy by Ally Condie: I was *so bored* after the first third of the first book and I hear it only gets worse so that’ll be a no from me…
  11. Atlantia by Ally Condie: Unfortunately, I found this book to be no more interesting than Condie’s Matched trilogy…
  12. The Maximum Ride Series by James Patterson: I was so obsessed with this series in middle school and high school. After a while, though, it got a little too out there and for some reason or another, I put it down and just never picked it up again…
  13. The New Soul Trilogy by Jodi Meadows: I found this book so incredibly dull. I can’t explain to you what exactly about it bored me, it just did.
  14. The Ruby Red Trilogy by Kerstin Gier: This book always seemed a bit juvenile to me. The voice of the narrator was just really young and I couldn’t connect with her at all.
  15. The Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout: This. Ugh. The post Twilight alien love phenomenon. I just can’t. I’m sorry.
  16. The Angelfall Trilogy by Susan Ee*: This I’m on the fence about, but the third book was just so weird and so dark…
  17. The Darkest Minds Trilogy by Alexandra Bracken: I don’t know why but The Darkest Minds just really bored me? I can’t say what it was exactly, but I just found the whole book to be really tired and dull.
  18. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell: I just didn’t like this book. It felt too much like a parody trying to be taken seriously.
  19. The Program Series by Suzanne Young: This series. Made me SO. ANGRY! As a book that deals with depression, I’d expect it to explore the topic a little more and dive into the depth of mental illness. No. Instead, it stigmatizes depression even more! In a culture where those with mental illnesses are already stigmatized, that’s the last thing we need. I will not be finishing this series.
13 thoughts on “Books/Series I’m Not Going To Finish”

  1. I gave up on The Maze Runner too; I read the first two and started the third, then a few pages in I thought, ‘wait. Do I actually care about any of these people?’ and realised the answer was no. Watching the film of The Scorch Trials only added to this. I am really bad for finishing series; I can never finish the Chaos Walking trilogy because I read the first two while pregnant and the thought of the third brings back the feelings of nausea!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay someone else who gave up on beautiful creatures. I’ve read the first book twice but haven’t made it any further. I’m still trying to convince myself to read Scorch Trials despite not loving Maze Runner. You should stick with Knife of Never Letting Go as it gets so much better.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally get what you’re saying about The Maximum Ride series. I used to love them way too much when I was younger, but I fell out of it… Then got offended that there were still more? I don’t care who the author is, they’ve got to be grasping at straws by now. Also, it seems like you got farther in The Maze Runner than I have because I DNF’d it a month ago towards the beginning of the story, and I still haven’t returned.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

