reviews

Temporary DNF Review | Truthwitch by Susan Dennard | In Which Unpopular Opinions Abound

Goodreads Summary: In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.

Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.

In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls’ heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

My Rating: 2 Stars

My Thoughts:

Ahem.

Sooo.

I wasn’t going to write this review until I’d finished the book, but Cait from Paper Fury’s review in which she complains about the same things after finishing the entire book spurred me to do it. See, I’ve “temporarily DNFed” this book, which means I disliked it enough to set it down and have it moved to the bottom of my TBR.

Anyhow, let’s get on to what I know you’re all waiting for…

This book had half a year’s worth of hype surrounding it, so let’s just say I was expecting great things. Unfortunately I was disappointed. I’ve temporarily DNFed this book because, honestly, it was putting me in a sump.

The book starts out really fast and doesn’t stop. That can be a downfall depending upon how you look at it because while everything is happening, there’s also a lot of new terminology being thrown around, but the story’s moving too fast to fully define that terminology. At times, it was hard to keep up with what was going on, and I found myself returning to passages again to try and fully grasp what had happened.

Despite the fast pace of events, the true plot takes a while to get going. I was a quarter through the book, and the full plot still hadn’t unfolded, but a lot of events had happened. This creates a really weird, uneven pace. It felt like it almost went too fast. Halfway in, a ton of stuff had happened, but the main plot still hadn’t really progressed. This gave the book this really wacky pacing like we’re going! aaand we’re slowing down…and we’re going! aaand we’re slowing down…and so on and so forth.

The characters weren’t exactly flat, but they weren’t full either. I had a hard time caring about what happened to them.

I felt like there was also too much telling and not enough showing. I think the book would have benefited from having less action and a bit more world building and character development.

All in all, I just couldn’t get into this book and I’m sad that I had to DNF it for now because it was my most anticipated book of the year. We’ll see how I feel when I pick it back up…

5 thoughts on “Temporary DNF Review | Truthwitch by Susan Dennard | In Which Unpopular Opinions Abound”

  1. I totally understand. XD And tbh, I wish I’d DNF’d because I kept reading to get answers and since I got exactly NONE, I feel like I monstrously wasted my time. *weeps* I’m pretty sure you’re not missing out on much. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

