Review | Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

Goodreads Summary: She’s more gunpowder than girl—and the fate of the desert lies in her hands.

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mystical beasts still roam the wild and barren wastes, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinni still practice their magic. But there’s nothing mystical or magical about Dustwalk, the dead-end town that Amani can’t wait to escape from.

Destined to wind up “wed or dead,” Amani’s counting on her sharpshooting skills to get her out of Dustwalk. When she meets Jin, a mysterious and devastatingly handsome foreigner, in a shooting contest, she figures he’s the perfect escape route. But in all her years spent dreaming of leaving home, she never imagined she’d gallop away on a mythical horse, fleeing the murderous Sultan’s army, with a fugitive who’s wanted for treason. And she’d never have predicted she’d fall in love with him…or that he’d help her unlock the powerful truth of who she really is.

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

My Thoughts: WOW. Just. Wow. What can I say? I think I’ve found a new favorite. Rebel of the Sands has captured my imagination and I’m so glad to hear there will be more! Right from the start, I was so captivated. The magic of the book just completely sucked me in and whirled me away!

First off, let’s talk about our main character, Amani. I adore Amani. She’s a smart-mouthed, intelligent gunslinger who doesn’t let anyone or anything keep her down. Not only is she sassy and tough, but Hamilton proves this to us by showing it, not just telling us! AND Amani comes so far by the end of the story! When I looked back at who she started as and how she’d grown, I was amazed.

And Jin! Talk about a romantic interest who had me swooning! He’s tall, dark, mysterious, and gritty, but totally has a good heart. I LOVED his character!

I love the romance! It’s the perfect amount, not at all usurping the story or standing in as a weak substitute for character development. The instant Amani and Jin meet, you can tell it’s a partnership made in heaven. And the more they get to know each other, the more their relationship begins to sizzle. I couldn’t help but to root for them.

The story really has a unique voice that jumps to life. I love the legends and myths infused into the story. It was very nice world building and gave the book this, gauzy, mysterious, Arabian feel. At the same time elements such as setting and diction helped to establish the Western side of the world.

For the most part this is what I’d call a “journey book.” The plot is about  Amani and Jin trying to get somewhere and the incidents that occur along the way. Then, in the last quarter of the book, it transforms!

All in all, Rebel of the Sands was an amazing book that I will not soon forget. Like, 10/10 would recommend. To anyone. JUST READ IT, OKAY?!!!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I can’t wait to read it! It came in one of my monthly book boxes and I couldn’t be happier. Thanks for the great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      ooh! exciting! it’s definitely a great book, i hope you enjoy it as much as i did 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m glad you liked it! I enjoyed it too but it was more around a 4 star then 5. I was either hating or loving the protagonist weirdly enough.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      she can flip flop a little but overall i loved her

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think this is a very wonderful book. ❤ Loved how you reviewed it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      it was great!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

