fun

Late Entry & Book Tag: Rock My TBR 2016 Challenge

My Dearest Readers,

It has come to my attention that I have linked up for this challenge and yet did not do any post declaring my intent to join. What can I say? Oops?

Anyhoo.

This is my post declaring my official participation in the 2016 Rock My TBR Challenge hosted by Sarah K over at The YA Book Traveler. See, life has kind of forced me into reading Backlist TBR books. I’m in a bit of a financial pinch, so no book buying for me until my birthday (which is in November). Anyhoo, that means reading the books on my TBR that I already own. And I own a lot. Trust me.

First up: backlist ARCs!

Next: backlist audiobooks!

And finally: backlist physical finished copies!

So that’s my schedule and hopefully I’ll stick to it. I definitely have enough to last me a year, so that’s good news!

So let’s get to the fun stuff! This challenge has a super fun playlist book tag so let’s get onto it!

1. SMELL LIKE TEEN SPIRIT (Nirvana) – A Contemporary I Want to Read

The Heir and the Spare (ARC Edition) by Emily Albright–This book looks so cute and fun and reminds me of my preteen days and movies I loved like What A Girl Wants!

9781440590108_77158

2. SHUT UP AND DANCE (Walk to the Moon) – Most Anticipated Book You Have

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo–This was one of my most antiipated books of last year and I still haven’t gotten to it. Idk why, though. Now’s the time, I guess. Carpe diem!

23437156

3. CENTURIES (REMIX) (Fall Out Boy) – A Twist on a Classic or Fairy Tale

Uprooted by Naomi Novik–From what I’ve heard, this book is a mixture of Beauty and the Beast, Rapunzel, and Polish folktales. It’s gotten lots of praise so I’m really looking forward to it!

22544764

4. YOSHIMI BATTLES THE PINK ROBOT (The Flaming Lips) – A Science Fiction Book or a Book Set in the Future

Firstlife by Gena Showalter–This one is kinda hard to explain. It involves a dystopian futures in which you have to choose between two afterlives. It’s kinda a weird premise, but it looks promising.

25785357

5. SHE LOOKS SO PERFECT (5 Seconds of Summer) – A Book with a Girl on the Cover

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover–The girl on this cover doesn’t look so much summery and perfect as…oh, i don’t know…hopeless? (Eh! Eh! Get it–hopeless?!! Okay. I’ll stop.) Even still, the book is great (I’ve finished half of it)!

15717943

6. AFRICA (Toto) – A Book Set in a Foreign Country

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken–This book is set in many foreign countries and times as it involves a ship which can travel through space and time!

20983362

7. ANOTHER ONE BITES THE DUST (Queen) – A Book or Books That Will Complete BEGIN a Series

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon–All of my backlist books are either the first book in a series or the middle book in a series so I twisted this challenge into reading the first book in a series. And for that I chose Outlander, the first book in a loooooong series!

10964

8. SOMEONE NEW (Hozier) – A Book by an Author You Haven’t Read Yet

The Last Boy and Girl in the World (ARC Edition) by Siobhan Vivian–I’ve never read anything by Siobhan Vivian and this one looks good.

24157347

9. HELLO (Adele) –  A Book your DNF or Weren’t in the Mood for at the Time

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard–Take II with Truthwitch! Let’s see how this round goes.

21414439

10. LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT (Kylie Minogue)–  A Book you Bought Because of the Cover

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab–This cover is beautiful and I’ve heard the book is amazing too!

A Darker Shade final for Irene

 

 

4 thoughts on “Late Entry & Book Tag: Rock My TBR 2016 Challenge”

    1. i’m reading all of my backlist books (sorry if that was unclear). if someone gives me a new book, unless it’s an ARC, it goes to the bottom of the pile 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

