reviews

Review | Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Goodreads Summary: Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

My Thoughts: People have been raving about this book since it came out and I was always like, “Meh. Looks okay.” Boy, oh, boy was I wrong. Because Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda isn’t just plain vanilla okay. It’s awesome. Or as Simon might say, it’s freaking awesome. To put this into perspective, I read this book in a day. It usually takes me at least three days to finish a book. So it’s safe to say I devoured this book and all its fluffy goodness. It was so good, I don’t even know where to begin.

Let’s start with Simon, who I freaking love. He’s grounded, down to earth, funny, and comfortable with himself. He was a really genuine depiction of a normal, healthy teenager and I could totally relate to him. I loved how comfortable he was with being himself. Being gay wasn’t this big deal for him, it was just another part of who he was, like being funny or being a theater kid. He was the kinda guy I can totally see myself being best friends with.

Speaking of best friends, the supporting cast of characters was freaking amazing! I love that Simon’s friends and family played such a major role in the story and that they stayed constant. They were colorful and funny and all had their own distinct personalities. And they mattered to the story, they weren’t just thrown in as background noise. I could relate to each of them in their own unique way–Nick’s musicality and chillness, Leah’s snark, Abby’s kindness, and the general, normal, familial kookiness of Simon’s family. And Blue. Ah, Blue. The mysterious, swoon-worthy love interest. Despite being so mysterious, I loved that he was still open and relatable and real.

A big part of this book is relationships, romantic, platonic, and familial. Albertalli nails all of them. Every one of the relationships is sweet and real and not fraught with angst and drama, but is tinged with enough longing. I just asdfghjkl! I loved all of the relationships. I especially loved seeing how Simon’s relationships evolved and how they changed him in return as well.

Another thing I loved about Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda was how modern, yet timeless it was. The thing I always worry about when a book makes contemporary references is that it won’t be able to become timeless–that is, it will become outdated and irrelevant quickly. Yet somehow, Albertalli manages to make references (to things like Tumblr and Justin Bieber and Facebook) and still maintain a both timeless and modern feel.

All in all this is a great book and I’d recommend it to anybody and everybody, even if you don’t like contemporary! Freaking awesome!

3 thoughts on “Review | Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli”

  1. OMG YES to all of this! I’m so glad you loved this book. It was so amazing. I keep trying to give myself some time to cool off from it just to be sure I’m not overreacting with my praise, but this book is still in my mind. And I’m still very much in love with it. It’s easily my favorite of the books I’ve read so far this year c:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

