Review | Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

Goodreads Summary: The graphic novel debut from rising star Noelle Stevenson, based on her beloved and critically acclaimed web comic, which Slate awarded its Cartoonist Studio Prize, calling it “a deadpan epic.”

Nemeses! Dragons! Science! Symbolism! All these and more await in this brilliantly subversive, sharply irreverent epic from Noelle Stevenson. Featuring an exclusive epilogue not seen in the web comic, along with bonus conceptual sketches and revised pages throughout, this gorgeous full-color graphic novel is perfect for the legions of fans of the web comic and is sure to win Noelle many new ones.

Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.

But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit.

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

TL;DR Review: Extremely lovable characters, good plot, easy format, loved it, want more!

My Thoughts: Nimona was the first book in a long time (and I mean in a looooooong time) to make me laugh out loud. It is one of the books where the blurb (Rainbow Rowell stating that the graphic novel is “full of humor and heart”) is actually true. The book was heartwarming and humorous in spades. It is the kind of book which you open your heart to and get that gratifying feeling of being hugged by someone (or in this case, something) awesome in return. And it is. Awesome, that is.

What really makes the story is the lovable and colorful characters. Ballister Blackheart plays the secretly soft supervillain (well, kind of supervillain) and Nimona his overzealous, shapeshifting sidekick. Sir Goldenloin is Blackheart’s kind of nemesis, the champion of the kingdom, who just can’t seem to get it right. And The Director is the secretly nefarious head of The Institute, the organization claiming to be on the side of good.

The whole book is an exploration of the idea that everyone is more than they seem and we can’t fit into these black and white boxes that people want to put us in and the characters show that theme off very well. Everyone is more than they seem and no one is what they appear.

The plot was so super fun and funny and easy to go along with. There are several things going on at once, but they all fit together perfectly in the end into a cute little story.

I’m not an expert (this is my first graphic novel), but I felt that the art style really fit the narrative. It was quirky and funny and hipster and it really lent its feel and tone to the quirky voice of the story. I just felt that the story aspects and the artistic aspects melded together and complemented each other really well!

As for the format, this was my first ever real graphic novel and I found it so, so easy to read. I’m not sure if that ease was a function of the writing or of the format but I definitely won’t hesitate to try graphic novels again. While I’m not an expert (yet), I’d definitely say that if you’ve never read a graphic novel before, this is a great place to start.

All in all, Nimona was definitely a hit for me and I loved it. I honestly think y’all would love it too, so you have my blessing to read it, lol! So go forth and enjoy!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. NicoleLynn says:

    I’ve heard such great things about this graphic novel! I really need to pick it up. I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I really liked your review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      thanks, i’m glad you enjoyed the review and i hope you enjoy the book!

      Like

  2. I still need to read this book! Like I know I’m going to love it, but I’m going to finish it sooo quickly as well. Nice review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      READ IT ASTRA READ IT!!! SO GOOD!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I WILL, DON’T WORRY! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

