reviews

Review | Saga Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Goodreads Summary:

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

My Thoughts: Oh, gosh, what can I say? I’m a fan. A big fan. They’ve got me hooked.

Saga is a graphic novel sci fi space opera about two star-crossed lovers (Marko and Alana) and their baby (Hazel) trying to outrun two governments who want them dead and their child captured. It was fantastic!

The story is so engrossing and engaging. It takes a fairly simply premise and extrapolates from there, creating a wild world. This first volume is spent largely on Alana, Marko, and Hazel’s trek across a planet in an attempt to reach a point where they can escape the planet. This gives the reader a chance to kind of explore the new world they’re being introduced to and get used to it (because, trust me, it is strange). At the same time, we meet our main cast, which includes Marko, Alana, and Hazel, as well as Prince Robot IV and The Will (with his sidekick, The Lying Cat), their pursuers.

The main characters are easy to love and root for. Interestingly enough, the antagonists, The Will and Prince Robot IV, are not entirely loathesome. Instead, they are portrayed as humans (or, ya know, robots) with their own lives and complicated moral systems who are caught up in a larger war. It’s an interesting take.

Hazel, Alana and Marko’s baby daughter, narrates the whole story, giving the story this sassy, wise-beyond-her-years, yet still full of wonder tone. It felt very much like one of those movies with a voice-over, but in a good way.

The art was stunning! All of the colors and the style were just so visually appealing and it added so much to an already strange and wondrous world. I’m convinced that this story couldn’t have been told any other way than through a graphic novel or a movie or TV show.

All in all, I’m in love with Saga. It’s a new obsession and I greatly look forward to the next installment.

7 thoughts on “Review | Saga Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples”

  1. Yes! I love the Saga Volumes with a passion, and I’m so excited that you enjoyed it. The rest of the volumes are just as amazing – if not more so – as this one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YES x INFINITY + INFINITY! I’m so glad you loved this. I can tell you one thing, it just keeps getting better and better. It is definitely one of the best obsessions to have (until you run out of volumes and get stuck waiting for the next one to come out >_<).

    I like that you mentioned the antagonists being portrayed as human/robots just trying to live in their own moral systems because that is one of the many ideas this series takes on and does quite well. It's like everything isn't so black and white and you get to understand the motivations behind each character. Ugh. I just love Saga waaaay too much. I hope you enjoy the rest!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol, glad to find another rabid fan! everyone tells me it keeps getting better so i cant wait for next month to get the next one from the library (i’m renting one–*maybe* two–per month to stretch it out!)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Definitely stretch it out as long as you can. I wasn’t aware that they were still slowly coming out with the volumes, so I foolishly blew through all five in a span of 2-3 weeks. It was harsh.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

