fun

My Favorite Classics

I have no clue why, but recently I got a hankering to share my favorite classics with y’all. Some of them are books I read because of school, some of them I picked up  on my own, some of them are well known, others lesser known. But all of them are good and you should definitely check them out!

The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros

This is one of my favorite classics that I had to study in IB English. Not many people know about it until they take an English class, but it is soooo good. I think I love this book because I have never enjoyed a writing style more than Cisneros’s beautiful, jazzy vignette style and I honestly have never related to a book more. Many of the experiences that the protagonist went through I have gone through and felt the exact same way. Reading this was just a prime example to me of how books and the experiences they portray and emotions they convey can touch you deeply.

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

Please tell me I’m not the only one who went through a Jane Austen phase where I watched all of the adaptations and read all of her books? For me that phase happened when I was about 11. I just completely fell in love with Austen’s writings, but in particular, with Sense and Sensibility. Even at 11, I felt such a kinship with Eleanor Dashwood. I fell in love with the romantic story and the real characters.

Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

This is another book I had to read for IB English and I really loved it! It was so symbolic and psychological! I feel like this was one of the first real psychological thrillers. I will say–it is ginormous and the font is small and it only takes place over 3 days, so if you read it, you’re in for a commitment. BUT! If you love literature and literature analysis, like me, then you’re in for a treat with this one.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

This is one of the first ever classics I picked u on my own. I was about 10 or 11 when I first read the “simplified, children’s classics” version of this one and I absolutely fell in love. Later I had to read the “real” version for school, and I still loved it just as much! It has a Cinderalla story, romance, and madwomen–what more could you ask for?

Little Women  by Louisa May Alcott

I didn’t grow up with stories like Anne of Green Gables, I grew up with Little Women. I related so much to all of the girls in some way, with my wild imagination. I adored hearing about the girls’ escapades as they grew up! I read the book and watched the movie over and over again and it remains one of my favorites to this day!

Little Men by Louisa May Alcott

My love of Louisa May Alcott extended past Little Women and on to Little Men! Of course I had to see what mischief the girls got up to as grown ups and how their children were! And I was not disappointed!

15 thoughts on “My Favorite Classics”

  1. I adore Jane Eyre! I first read it when I was 12 or something and don’t think I fully got the whole story so I recently re-read it and loved it even more the second time around. The story is absolutely wonderful ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I LOVE WILKIE COLLINS!!! His books are so haunting and ahead of their times in terms of social commentary on drug use! Have you seen any of the BBC adaptations? They’re brilliant (as per usual)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jane Eyre is definitely my all time favourite of the classics. I’ve read it quite a few times and I think I’ve probably seen every adaptation there is (Michael Fassbender is the best Rochester in my opinion).

    I do love a good Austen too but for some reason I don’t think I’ve ever actually read Sense and Sensibility. I went more for Northanger Abbey or Persuasion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. crime and punishment is so good! i’d say go into the house on mango street with an open mind and heart and a willingness to accept the validity and truth of other people’s unique experiences. i say this as i know a lot of people who dislike the book because they’ve never experienced things like poverty and couldn’t relate. but i think the book is an eye opening and accurate depictions of some really hard topics.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

