fun

300 Followers Q & A

I recently reached over 300 followers and decided to do a celebratory Q & A! I was so worried I wouldn’t get any questions, but y’all came up with some really meaningful and creative ones for me and I’m so happy to answer them! So let’s get going!

What’s the weirdest dream you’ve ever had?–The Orang-Utan Librarian

Haha. So. Funny story time! First off, my dreams are always really weird. Like, I can’t even describe it. Anyhow. I attended a Catholic school for 1st-8th grade. I vividly remember one dream from when I was in 6th grade in which I was on a farm with a ton of animals. The sky became cloudy and all of a sudden this booming voice came from the clouds. It was God telling me that I was the new Noah (a la Noah of the Arc) and there was going to be a terrible storm, so I had to lead all of my animals two by two into the barn (I had a barn instead of a boat), where we’d all be safe. So I (of course) did as God said and led the animals two by two into the barn. It started raining really crazy outside, but I was like, “No worries, we’re in the barn.” BUT THEN! The barn started leaking!!! I freaked out and was like, “I’ve failed God!!!”

So, yeah. That time I majorly failed God remains one of my wackiest dreams, lol!

U3649P42DT20150724150744

What’s your biggest real life dream?–The Orang-Utan Librarian

I used to have these grand dreams of success, but now I think the dream closest to my heart is just to have a happy life. It seems so simple, but when you think about it, it’s a really complex thing. I just hope I have a job I love, a big family, and a roof over my head.

large

What’s the biggest lesson(s) you learned from blogging so far?–Page Chronicles

Oh, gosh! I’ve learned so, so, so much! I think the biggest lesson I’ve learned is that when you’re passionate about something and you want to make something out of it, just go for it. Don’t hesitate or worry, just take the plunge. Another lesson I’ve learned is that a little creativity goes far in every aspect of everything. Finally I’ve learned that hard work and a little bit of love really do pay off in the end. And those are just a few of the lessons I’ve learned.

If you had to pick one emoji to describe yourself, which one would you pick?– The Writing Hufflepuff

Hmmm. Probably the red flamenco lady because to me she has a lot of spunk and pizazz and, yep, that’s me, spunky and pizazz-ly!

giphy (1)

Would you rather live in the city or by the sea?–A Stranger’s Guide To Novels

Oh that’s so hard! I’d have to go with in a city by the sea like San Francisco (which is actually where I was born)! I’ve actually lived by the ocean and in the city during my life and I loved both locations!

giphy (2)

Name one good character you think would be better as a villain (or vice versa)–A Stranger’s Guide To Novels

I think Mare Barrow from Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard is total villain material. She’s just so self centered and self important (I don’t like her that much, sorry). I feel like in Glass Sword, she really felt more like a villain in the making.

giphy (3)

If you could visit one place in the world, real or fictional, where would it be?–Reading Every Night

Ooh! I’ve always wanted to go to Karou’s Prague (from Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor)! When I read about it, it just seemed so magical and the real life history of Prague is filled with magic and mystery and mysticism! Plus, from Karou’s Prague, I could portal to anywhere in the world (and out of this world as well)!

tumblr_mvl9lgZUNF1spl3lco1_250.gif

Do you use any kind of organization? (Planner, Bullet Journal, etc)–Perfection In Books

Surprisingly (or not so surprisingly, if you know me), no. I have no idea how I do it without organization, but I am literally the messiest, most disorganized person you will ever meet! I do write most of my posts ahead of time, but that’s all. Again: I have no idea how I do it.

mess

If you were given one super power, what it would be?–Vrushali

Can I just be magical??? Just make me a unicorn!!!

tumblr_nv1oqhZpcz1sfmnojo1_500

What is the most dragging book or series you’ve read?–Confessions of a Pinay Bookaholic

That’s tough. I haven’t read a really, truly dragging book or series in a while, I’ve gotten really good at knowing my book tastes and what I’ll like. The last book I DNFed, though, was Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. It didn’t quite drag action-wise, but I felt it lacked substantial plot, so it dragged in that way.

giphy (20)

How do you come up with such original ideas for feature posts?–She Latitude

Honestly, there’s no formula to it. Half of the time I’m just winging it! I try to take what I love and mix it with books. For instance, I’m a very visual person and I’ve always been obsessed with behind the scenes stuff of movies, costuming and set design and soundtrack/score creation, that sort of stuff. That’s where my ideas for The Costume Chest and The Bookish Travel Guide came from. I just thought, “How can I mix my passion for visuals with books?” I always think where there’s passion, there’s a way.

tumblr_n750ibEtz41t03u8oo4_250

Top three blogging tips?–She Latitude

Oh gosh. I’m such a young blogger, I’m not sure if I’m qualified to give out advice! I’d say my number one tip is to do what you’re passionate about–passion really infuses your posts and your blog with that certain something and draws people to it (people can tell when you love what you do and are attracted to it). My second tip would be to be unapologetically yourself. Authenticity is another huge thing that will draw people to you–plus, it’s much more fun to be an original work of art than a copy! My third tip would be to use the wise words of Miz Frizzle (of The Magic School Bus) to guide you–“Take chances! Make mistakes! Get messy!” Live and blog by those words and you’ll be golden!

giphy (4)

20 thoughts on “300 Followers Q & A”

  1. I also don’t like Mare very much, but then again I wasn’t impressed by Red Queen at all. And I’m sad that you DNF-ed Truthwitch! I actually started it myself but also dropped it because it was SO SLOW. I’m planning to pick it up again but now I’m not sure if that’s a good idea.

    And I love those blogging tips — doesn’t hurt that Magic School Bus was one of my childhood pastimes! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yeah mare has definitely become one of my least liked characters recently, unfortunately. i’m going to pick up truthwitch again, but right now it’s at the bottom of my tbr. i’m glad you enjoyed the blogging tips 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

