fun

Top 5 Wednesday | Book That Scare Me!

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam from Thoughts On Tomes (both on YouTube). This week’s theme is “books you’re intimidated by.” You’ll notice some trends in my books that I’m intimidated by. Most of them are big books, but even more are adult books. The adult category kind of scares me because of its drier style and slower pace. I’m used to the go-go-go of YA and I’m afraid it’s kind of spoiled me. So without any further ado, here are the top 5 books I’m intimidated by!

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

This book (series) is huge! It’s high fantasy and adult and just absolutely terrifying to me! It seems like the words and style would just be really hard to read.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

This book is also huge (notice a trend?), but it’s more the dry, adult writing style that freaks me out.

Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson

Anotheer big book. It’s the intricacy of this one that intimidates me, though. I’ve heard the magic system is very complex and scientific and I’m afraid I’ll get lost in the details and get bored.

Me Before You by JoJo Myoes

An emotional adult book that’s known to rip your heart out and stomp on it? Sound absolutely terrifying to me!

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Like Me Before You, I’m afraid of extreme emotional overload with this one and that it will trigger my depression.

17 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Book That Scare Me!”

  1. Let me (try to) reassure on the Mistborn front!

    The magic system isn’t complex in a “there are hundreds of rules you have to memorize” sort of way. It’s just that there are three different branches of magic, and each works a little differently. Thankfully, the book doesn’t expect you to remember everything about the different types of magic; it introduces the magic very slowly and clearly (one of the main characters is learning about magic, so we get to learn alongside her), and will remind you (quickly and simply) what’s what as the characters use the magic throughout the book.

    The only “scientific” thing about the magic is that it’s based entirely on metals instead of the more vague and common things like earth/air/fire/water/spirit. It’s not hard to understand, and it’s not described in long, boring detail.

    Don’t let the magic scare you away from a great book! And anyway, if you do want a more in-depth refresher on the magic as you read the book, just do an Internet search for “Mistborn series magic system,” and you’ll find several sites devoted to explaining it. (Though I think those sites are more confusing/boring than just reading the actual book!)

    =)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t be afraid of Mistborn. The magic system is well-laid out, but not intimidating. It’s been compared to, uhm, table-top gaming or video games, and is fairly simple overall. If you ingest x metal, you get x reaction. If you ingest x and y, you get x and y reaction. If you ingest it, and don’t use it all up, you’re gonna get a tummy ache from heck … etc.

    My Most Intimidating Books.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. AHA, A Game of Thrones, Outlander and Mistborn TERRIFY me completely. They are SO long and they have so much hype, I’m afraid to be disappointed BUT I’m still SO EXCITED to read them. With Me Before You, I will not lie, THAT BOOK WILL DEVASTATE YOU. It ripped me apart but it was SO worth it 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. unfortunately adult audiobooks tend to be read very dryly and without emotion so i think thats whats getting to me. i cant wait to listen to me before you and be ripped apart though!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve read Outlander and have to admit I found it long so I haven’t read any others in the series. My advice for scary books is to get a buddy to read along with you. Definitely helps 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

