Guest Posts & Interviews

Guest Post With J.A. George, Author of Gifted!

Hello my lovely bibliophiles!

Today I’ve got something quite special for you! A guest post from J.A. George, author of Gifted!!! The guest post will be covering the interesting topic of “What was your favorite moment of writing Gifted?” Ooooooooh! I can’t wait to read the answer, can you?!

ALSO! Before I forget to mention it, Ms. George will be hosting a giveaway when paperback versions of Gifted are released on her blog,  www.thejourneyofgifted.co.uk! Ooooh! Aaaah! Exciting stuff here!!!

So let’s just dive write into it! Without any further ado, I present to you: A guest post by Ms. J.A. Geoorge!

 

Well hello there!
My name is J.A. George and I am the author of GIFTED – The Hayven Series! I thought I’d take this opportunity to write about my favourite things concerning the process of my novel. If you’d rather know more about the GIFTED in general, check out my blog: http://www.thejourneyofgifted.co.uk where I document the stages of GIFTED coming to life!
Before I go on, allow me to sneakily throw in the blurb for GIFTED:
There is no chosen one in this story.
She was just in the wrong place at the wrong time and happened to make a decision that altered her future forever. It happens to all of us every day.
Avery Gray is a size twelve university student with a penchant for dry humour, and she’s as normal as they come. One rainy afternoon, Avery had to make a choice: go through the alleyway or around it. Two possible options. One would have had her future continue on as planned, the other would ensure that her future never remained the same again. She unknowingly went with the latter.
Change can be good. It can bring new opportunities, new friends and a life you never thought possible. Change can be bad. It can bring you people determined to burn your city to the ground.
It all depends on the decisions you make.

One of my favourite things about the entire writing process is the editing. Now, for those of you who write novels, novellas, poems etc., I know what you’re thinking  editing is the worst. It used to be the worst part of being an author for me too. Sending off your work to your editor, getting it back and seeing all the changes you needed to make was exhausting, arduous and quite frankly, it just got on my nerves. I don’t know when things changed, but I learned to love it and what I like most about editing is how much I learn from it. Before GIFTED was professionally edited, I thought I knew a lot about words, ignorance is bliss after all. Turns out, I knew how to spell, but when it came to punctuation, I wasn’t as much of the skilled master I’d once thought I was. Did you know that there are three different dashes, and each dash has a specific function? I won’t get into that now because that’s probably when you’ll give up reading this guest post. I’ll move on.
Another of my favourite things had to be thinking up all of the supernatural gifts I gave to my characters. I’ve made it a hook in the novel that no two people have the exact same gift and I personally wanted to make sure each individual has an interesting gift, whether it’s a main character or a character with a minor part. I have seven main characters, now before you say, ‘seven main characters?! Isn’t that too many?’ allow me to answer – no. If you can keep up with the cast of Game of Thrones, you can keep up with this! And if you don’t watch Game of Thrones…you really should; it’s pretty great. Now, where was I? Oh yes. My seven main characters each have their own gift and the gifts in my novel range from pre-cognition to teleportation, from shape-shifting to weather control, from intangibility to earth manipulation. It’s a lot of fun having to think of gifts that would be cool to have and that I haven’t repeated!
Let’s switch things up – a little. How about a favourite moment? My favourite moment about the entire writing process was when I decided to write for myself. My first edition of GIFTED was a mess because I tried to write a book everyone would love – an impossible feat. I once thought you couldn’t have a YA novel without romance, so I forced in a lot of romance scenes. I’m not a very…romantic person. I’m the kind of person who cringes at the unrealistic love scenes in a book and will more often than not, skip over it. My first edition of GIFTED was full of scenes like this and I hated writing it. Honestly, I would cringe at my desk as I typed it out. I just…bleugh…it’s not for me. So why write it I hear you ask? I added strong romance into my novel because I thought that was what people wanted to read. Every author wants their book to sell and in order for it to sell, you have to write what people want to buy, so I tried to do that. One evening, I’d just had enough and I deleted all of the romance scenes and completely revised my novel, resulting in edition two, and I am unbelievably happy with the way it is now. GIFTED still has hints of romance, it’s just not heavy, unrealistic instant-love. By taking out all of the soggy romance got me thinking and I ended up replacing it with real young adult relationships, and that includes cheating. I also looked more closely at friendships and modern issues, such as, body-image. GIFTED is a lot more fun that it sounds, I swear!
Finally, one other of my favourite things (I couldn’t possibly list them all) has to be the building of my characters because, despite how weird this may make me sound, when I write about a character, build their life, give them a family, a past, and friends, describe their features and develop their personalities, their likes and dislikes, it’s honestly as if they come alive.

J.A. George
Twitter: @JGeorgie_
Blog: www.thejourneyofgifted.com
Download a sample of GIFTED from amazon here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Gifted-Hayven-Book-1-ebook/dp/B01E83HZPC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1460835483&sr=8-1&keywords=gifted+J+George

 

2 thoughts on “Guest Post With J.A. George, Author of Gifted!”

Leave a Reply

