The Joys of Audiobooks!

So in case you weren’t aware by now, I almost exclusively listen to audiobooks. While most readers mostly…um, read books…and listen to audiobooks every once in a while, I’m the complete opposite! I listen to audiobooks all the freakin’ time and only ever “read read” once in a while or when I have an ARC.

I’ve been listening to audiobooks since I was a kid, when it all started with J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series (Jim Dale’s, the narrator, voice is *heavenly* fyi) Before that, my mom read to me or told me stories every night. So I guess you could say oral tradition is infused in me.

I think everyone should listen to audiobooks, at least once, if not 24/7, but that’s just my opinion. It’s hard for me to imagine why people would be averse to the idea. Nevertheless, some people are, so I’ll lay out for y’all the quick and easy of why I love audiobooks!


1. They’re faster.

I’m a slow reader. I’m talking sluggish. But with audiobooks, you don’t have to worry about that because they have preset reading speeds! AND! If the audiobook is too slow for you, you can speed it up!


2. They’re lighter and more portable than books.

You can get tapes and CDs of audiobooks or you can download them to your phone, iPod, or computer. That means you can take them with you everywhere minus the weight of an actual book! Further, you can listen to audiobooks while driving and you can’t read a book while driving! Such brilliant inventions!


3. You can multitask (for those of us, such as myself, who have ADD/ADHD).

If you have ADHD like me or you just have a short attention span, it can be really difficult to sit still for a long period of time and concentrate on one thing. Audiobooks solve that problem! Want to cook while reading? You can! Cleaning? Go for it! Knitting? No worries! Driving? Audiobooks have got you covered!

That’s kinda it. The only other reason  can give for why I love audiobooks is this intangible quality about vocal performance. I don’t know. There’s just something about voice that I love (being a singer, this probably isn’t strange). There’s something about being told a story that just feels so comforting and cozy to me.

Anyhoo! That’s all for today! Go forth, my lovely bibliophiles, and spread the word of books throughout the world (yes, I went to Catholic school for anyone who caught that reference)!

23 Comments Add yours

  1. Haha, this is great. I wasn’t convinced about audiobooks until I listened to Aziz Ansari’s Modern Romance, and since then, I’ve started listening to them – OK, I’ve only listened to one more (Mindy Kaling’s book).

    It’s amazing that you find it easy to multitask while listening to an audiobook! I found it ridiculously hard because I tend to zone out and focus on what I’m doing rather than actually listen. Non-fiction books seem to work better for me, with fiction I get lost all the time. D:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      i can only multitask doing certain things, like browsing the internet or knitting or cooking. i think keeping my attention depends *a lot* on the narrator.

      Like

  2. My first audiobooks were Jim Dale’s Harry Potter as well, and for a while they kind of ruined me on audiobooks. He was just so good, everyone else seemed so bland! But now that I am getting busier and running out of time to read, audiobooks have been the only way I get to read anything most days. I can listen to them every time I’m in the car, while I’m getting ready for work, or while I clean my apartment.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Lila says:

      same thing happened to me–when i was a kid, i actually thought he narrated *all* audiobooks and was shocked to discover that he didn’t, haha!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Julia Byers says:

    I haven’t listened to too many audiobooks, but I do love them.

    They saved my butt when it came to college, and I could listen to an hour and a half of a story while driving. Librivox.org was wonderful for the classics!

    When I worked, I also had a long drive, and I loved getting to listen to something other than the horrid radio that plays all of like 5 songs. The only problem is I’m an emotional reader, and I’d have to listen to the book at home when I started getting teary-eyed, haha. I think my very favorite so far has been Eleanor & Park.

    Now that I am a stay-at-home mom, it’s harder to listen because my son is always saying SOMETHING…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      i *love* librivox! audiobooks are definitely great for long drives but not for the faint of heart, lol!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Michelle says:

    I listen to audio books every so often, but I didn’t know you can set the reading speed!? I really like audio books but they sometimes went so slow, so that’s good to know 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      glad you learned a new fact that will make you an audiobook convert (i hope 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I agree with you in everything, especially when you said that they read faster.
    I have only one problem with them though, and it is a big one – I fall asleep almost everytime I try to listen to them or I get distrated and lose attention.
    To me, they’re great for rereads, but for the first-time reads, not so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      oh no, haha! at least you can listen on rereads!

      Like

  6. #3 is the thing I like best about audiobooks, for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      multitasking is the best, lol!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Lily says:

    If you enjoy psychological thrillers I suggest You and Hidden Bodies, both by Caroline Kepnes because their audiobooks ARE AMAZING! The reader embodies the character so well it’s insane!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      ooh! i’ll be sure to check them out if my library has them! thanks for the recommendations!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I should love audiobooks because multitasking, but I’ve never been able to get into them! I totally understand how useful they’d be though. I’m worried I would just let my thoughts wander so much and not even listen to it properly, haha. I want to try and get into them though so I think I might try one with a book I’m really familiar with like Harry Potter or something.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      harry potter audiobooks are a *great* place to start! it does take a bit of concentrated willpower to focus, but for me, so does regular reading. i eventually got used to having to pay attention with my ears, but there are still times i have to rewind the audiobook a few seconds, lol

      Like

      1. I’m definitely going to give it a go! I’m pretty sure the HP audiobooks are available on libraries overdrive so it’ll be a great way to test it out 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Lila says:

        oh good! i hope you like them!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. I haven’t tried audiobooks yet but I really want to give it a try now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      ooh! yay! definitely give them a try!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Audiobooks are a recent discovery of mine. If you’re interested, I wrote a “Top Ten Things I Like About Audiobooks” on my blog here.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. M.L.S.Weech says:

    I like to use audiobooks to read nonfiction, read books I don’t know when I’ll get around to READING them, and rereading books in a series to get ready for the new one. I’m all about them. Thanks for the post. I couldn’t agree more with audiobooks being a great asset.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. audioaudits says:

    I started 12 years ago with The Time Travelers Wife and haven’t “read” another book since!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

