fun

HELP! I’VE FALLEN AND I CAN’T GET UP!

Well. The time has come, folks. After about 15 years of reading…I have fallen into a reading slump.

I honestly don’t know what happened to me. I mean, what did I ever do to deserve this?!?!!

Well. Apparently that all means nothing! I’m in a slump regardless of my charms (and they are many).

I just can’t seem to finish a book. I’m not motivated to read. Not even The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh or The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater or the 1,234,568,765,434,567,899,878 other books I own!!!

I feel so lost in a world of books! WHO AM I WITHOUT THEM?!?!?!!!!

So this is it. The end is upon us…Or, upon me.

Just leave me here to die alone and bookless!

 Okay, so admittedly that was a tad dramatic, but in all seriousness, I am in a pretty bad reading slump. Any suggestions for what to do?

19 thoughts on “HELP! I’VE FALLEN AND I CAN’T GET UP!”

  1. I laughed so much in this post XD I may have watched that GIF of Meghan Trainor falling 5 too many times ! hahaha

    No seriously back to the issue. When ever I’m in a slump I read a contemporary something full of fluff and funniness that I don’t have to concentrate to much on and it pulls me back out. I’d recommend Simon vs the Homo sapiens agenda, To all the boys I’ve loved before or November 9 (any of Colleen Hoovers books really). Also you can always re-read a favorite (like Harry Potter)

    Some people just struggle through it and force themselves to read one thing and not put it down but I personally can’t do that.

    I hope you get out of your slump soon!

    Like

  2. You poor thing! Slumps are the worst. *Dies with you.*

    My book slumps are generally caused by either book/blogging overload (in which case I ditch the books and spend a week or two binge-watch a couple K-dramas) or a growing antsiness because I’ve been cooped up inside too long (in which case I spend a week or two doing fun things out of the house instead of reading). Maybe if you figure out the source of your slump, you’ll figure out the perfect solution?

    Hope you survive!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Instead of forcing yourself to read, I think it might be a better decision to not read for a while. The urge to read will come back to you. But when you’re swamped with all these books, it does make a reading slump inevitable. 🙂

    Like

  4. I’m with Fatima. Take a break from books. It’s not like they’re the Mean Girls who are going to dress you down for not paying attention to them. Veg out, watch some trashy t.v., ride a bike, ignore the books. You’ll get your groove back eventually.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You should just let it happen. I had a ‘slump’ in April and didn’t read a thing that month. I was just too busy with work and too preoccupied to clear my head for a nice and relaxing read.
    Reading is no competition, it’s not like you have to finish a certain amount of books or else.. Now I’m 5 books behind on my GR challenge, but I couldn’t care less. Thing is, I don’t think forcing yourself to read is the solution. You will only get more and more frustrated and that’s not the answer to anything. Just let it happen, see where it takes you and don’t stress about it. Soon before long you’ll find yourself reading again and enjoying it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I actually think that reading slumps come for a reason and if you’re in a slump then your brain probably had enough and wants to do something else instead of reading.
    So I suggest you not to read but do something else, and time when you’ll want to read again will come, don’t worry!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I just clawed my way out of a slump and then fell back into one. So I am dying right there with you. I’ve decided to just take a break from reading altogether binge-watch Netflix. The blog posts that I’m doing don’t require me to read. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

