Month In Review | June 2016

Another month has passed by, folks, and we’ve come to the halfway point of 2016. How’s the year goin’ for you? Me? It’s had its ups and downs. But this past month has been alright. It was a slower month for blogging and reading. Things are heating up here in the southern parts of the US, so ya know what that means: perfect time to stay in the air conditioning and curl up with a book!

Books Read + Mini Reviews

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater | 5/5 Stars

What can I say? Stiefvater killed it once again. Everything about this book was everything I wanted in a finale. True to Stiefvater’s style, this book boiled down to being all about the relationships between characters and I loved that Stiefvater brought it to that because honestly I think we’re all so invested in the characters by now. A brilliant finale to a great series!


Gotham Academy Vol. 1: Welcome To Gotham Academy by Becky Cloonan, Brendan Fletcher, and Karl Kerschl | 4/5 Stars

My first ever real comic and I loved it! I can’t wait to read the next one! The characters and the story were hip, young, fresh, and real. The art style and colors were fantastic! I did have to take a star off for the info dumps toward the end, but I’m not sure if that’s a standard kinda thing in comics. But other than that, I adored everything about Gotham Academy and I was left with so many questions! Just call me an addict.


The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh | 4/5 Stars

I loved this book so much that I didn’t want it to end! It was pretty slow at the beginning, but once I got to the middle, it began to really pick up. Of course, it was bittersweet to end this short series, but I felt like Ahdieh wrote this series ender really well. Her writing was beautiful as always; she is a great writer and a great storyteller! And I have to say–the epilogue killed me! So yeah, I just fell in love with this book “slowly, and then all at once” to quote John Green.

Batgirl Vol. 1: The Batgirl of Burnside by Cameron Stewart, Brendan Fletcher, Jared K. Fletcher, Maris Wicks, and Babs Tarr | 5/5 Stars

I loved it, loved it, loved it! So good! I wish this reboot of Batgirl would last forever because it was just so young and fresh! I felt like I could relate to Barbara and it was nice seeing her immersed in modern day life!


A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas | ALL OF THE STARS AND THE MOON TOO!!!

Ohmygod, guys, I can’t even…I don’t even…What even…I have the biggest book hangover I can ever remember having. This book was so supercalifragilousticexpialidociously fabulous and amazing and fantastic and incredible and all of the good superlatives!!! READ THE DARN BOOK! *throws book at your face*


Archie Issue #1 by Mark Waid and Fiona Staples | 4/5 Stars

I loved this cute reboot of Archie! Archie has always been a favorite comic of mine since I was just a girl (god, I sound so old…) and so I was really excited to see they’d rebooted it and that a live action TV show of Archie called Riverdale will be coming to The CW this fall! This little snippet was enough for me to want to check out volume 1 from the library, so who knows, that may be something in next month’s library haul!

Silk Issue #1 by Robbie Thompson, Stacey Lee, and Ian Herring | 4/5 stars

My first trip into the Marvel comics universe and I loved it! I need the next issue/first/zeroeth volume fast! This mysterious introduction to Silk is free on Amazon’s partner site, Comixology, if you’re interested, btw! I really suggest it–it was awesome!

Challenge Updates

Goodreads Challenge 

Read: 49/86 books

Achieved: 57%

Timing: 7 books ahead of schedule


Debut Author Challenge

0 books read by debut authors

 

Bookish Bingo

Second Chance

Set In Space–Starflight by Melissa Landers

Non Binary MC

Under 200 Pages–“Bridge of Snow” by Marie Rutkoski

Ugly Cover

Set Over 200 Years Ago–Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor

March, April, May Release–A Study in Charlotte by Britany Cavallaro

Criminals

Metallic Lettering–Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

Based On A Real Event

Book Toward Another Challenge

Green Cover–Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

FREE

Retelling–Stars Above (The Little Android) by Marissa Meyer

Set In More Than One Country–The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

Characters Aren’t Human–Saga Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Rec’d By More Than One Friend

Flowers On The Cover

MC Shares Your First Initial–Seven Black Diamond by Melissa Marr

Written Under A Pen Name

More Than One Author–Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

End Of The World

Number In The Title–Zero Day by Jan Gangsei

Nonfiction

Standalone–Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Audiobook Challenge

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Book Haul

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

Naughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman

Madly by Amy Alward

Tsarina by J. Nelle Patrick

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

Once Again by Cameron Dokey

Book Bucket

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton. and Jodi Meadows

The Last Star by Rick Yancey

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn skye

The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski

The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough

Lotus and Thorn by Sara Wilson Etienne

Saga Vol. 2 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Wonder Woman Vol. 1 by Brian Azzarello, Cliff Chiang, Tony Akins, Dan Green, Matthew Wilson, Jared K. Fletcher

Blogging

Looking Ahead-Blogging

WOW! For the first time in a looooong time, I have nothing ahead of me! No tours, no interviews, no guest posts–nothing! Not that I don’t love those things, it’s just they can be stressful, especially when you have anxiety! So it’s nice to have a little break now and then!

Monthly Snapshots

Around The Blogosphere/Vlogosphere

My Favorite Things

  • The Flash has become my summer show and a new favorite!
  • I rediscovered my love for singer Charli XCX
  • Have you heard of this little ol’ musical called Hamilton???
  • My new glasses make me feel super pretty
12 Comments Add yours

  1. Darth Veda says:

    I so agree with the Raven King and ACOMAF. Maggie Stiefvater is like my favorite author of ever possibly, next to Sarah J Maas, so this shouldn’t have been a surprise. ESOECIALLY ACOMAF OMG I’M DROWNING IN FEELS BECAUSE I’M READY TO GO KNOCK DOWN SARAH J MAAS’ HOUSE FOR MAKING ME WAIT FOR A WHOLE YEAR FOR THE NEXT BOOK. I just can’t even use sufficient words to express how incredible this book was. I have actually heard a lot about the Wrath and the Dawn series, and it seems like something I would normally read, but I haven’t read any of Renee Ahdieh before so I don’t know if her writing matches my style. I’ll probably end up going for it anyway, because the way you talked about it made it sound amazing.
    Thank you for linking to my post on the history of female protagonists. I’m glad you enjoyed it. LY ❤️🙃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      ADFGHJKLKJHGFDS ACOMAF!!!! that’s all i have to say on that topic, lol! renee ahdieh actually debuted last year with the wrath and the dawn and it’s incredible! if you’re a fan of laini taylor’s writing, then you’ll probably like renee ahdieh’s writing! happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. gotmybook2 says:

    I just listened to the The Raven Boys and am eager to make my way through the rest of the books

    My Sunday Summary

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      oooh, i hope you like them!

      Like

  3. This is such a wonderful post! And thank-you so much for showcasing my post about strong female characters! Now, I have a huge list of posts that I can look through as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for sharing my post, Lila! Glad to hear that you enjoyed TRATD – I enjoyed that one too, but I think I loved the first one more. Here’s to a great July. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      sure thing, reg!

      Like

  5. I’m loving this list you made about interesting posts. I am always behind when discovering discussions plus it is a good way to discover new blogs. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      i’m glad you liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. So glad you loved The Raven King, Gotham Academy and Archie!! The rest of the Archie series is sooo good too.

    Also, amazing list of posts!! Defs gonna check some of those out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lila says:

      i actually just checked out vol. 1 of the new archie and the childish part of me is super hyped for it (plus the new art is stellar)! i’m glad you like the list of posts–there are some great ones!

      Like

Leave a Reply

