fun

Month In Review + Obsession Confessions | September 2016

So you can pretty much equate a quiet blog with a hectic life. At least, in my case you can. Cause honestly, that’s pretty much the short summary of my September: quiet blog, hectic life. I spent the majority of my days adjusting to being in school and doing homework. I tried to squeeze reading, eating, and sleeping into what time I hard left, which, unfortunately, left me with little time for blogging. So I kind of vanished. I’m still running around like a crazed, debt-riddled, twenty-something college student though, and life doesn’t look like it’ll be slowing down anytime soon so my content will probably be a little sparse for a bit longer….

The Reading Review

Books Read + Mini Reviews

Stolen Songbird by Danielle L. Jensen | 5/5 Stars

I seriously enjoyed this book and its soooooo ironic because I was so resistant to reading this book due to the fact that it involved trolls and I just thought that wouldn’t be interesting. Boy was I wrong! Stolen Songbird is fast paced, action packed, and full of swoonworthy romance! I highly recommend picking it up!

A Torch Against The Night by Sabaa Tahir | 5/5 Stars
This book sold me on the Ember series because is was just amazing!!! A Torch Against The Night definitely stole the spot of “favorite book of September 2016” because…wow. I’m still reeling. I can’t say much more because this book is a sequel but just know that it’s so incredible!

The Forgetting by Sharon Cameron | 4/5 Stars
I was pleasantly surprised with this book I went in not expecting much since there wasn’t much buzz surrounding the book and came out pretty pleased. I was intrigued by the mystery The Forgetting presented and was enraptured by the plot. The one thing I’d say about this book is that the first 3/4 of the book is kinda slow, but it’s made up for by the action packed ending.

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake | DNF/ 1/5 Stars
This book and I did not get along. I went in expecting darkness, evil, and fights to the death. Sadly, there was none of those things. The characters weren’t just all nice, they were boring. The book was made worse by the fact that t had no plot whatsoever. I finally decided to set this book down after listening to 60% of it.

Book Haul

Book Bucket

Blogging Recap

Monthly Snapshots

for more, follow @thebookkeeper5 on Instagram!

Around The Blogosphere/Vlogosphere

  • Carolyn has one of the most important discussions on diversity that I’ve read and I highly suggest you read it

Obsession Confession

Book

So after my rousing endorsement in the Read + Mini Review section above, is anyone really surprised that I’d choose A Torch Against The Night by Sabaa Tahir as my bookish obsession of th month??? A Torch Against The Night was an absolutely phenomenal whirlwind of a ride! It is my honest opinion that the Ember series is one of the best YA fantasy series out there and A Torch Against The Night proves that! As this is coming ffrom the mouth of someone who wasn’t on board with the hype surrounding the first book, An Ember in the Ashes! But trust me when I say now that I see so much potential in this series!

Music


Whenever this song starts playing, I legit get a tingling in my toes that translates into, “Time to dance!” I love the way “Life Itself” mixes different sound and beats! In a way, it kinda reminds me of old school 90s rap mixed with a funky pop tune and semi-ethereal vocals. Definitely a great song to jam to!

Movies & TV

And thus we have come to my favorite movie/TV show/trailer of the month. This past month, the movie added to my “to watch” list was Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (directed by Tim Burton and based on the popular YA series of the same title by Ransom Riggs). I have yet to actually see this movie, but I honestly can’t wait! After reading the book, I can’t wait to see what Burton brings to this story, especially as I think there  is no better person to bring this story to life! From the look of the trailer and from what I’ve heard from reviewers and audiences, the film does differ slightly from the book, but that’s only to be expected. Regardless, I can’t wait to see this sure to be kooky, crazy film myself!

Web/Blogs


This month I’d like to give Shannon at It Starts at Midnight a shout out for running an awesome blog! I love how Shannon infuses each and every one of her posts with her own unique brand of sass, snark, and sarcasm. Shannon’s reviews are always interesting and engaging and her discussions are alway so insightful. I’m always excited to see a new post from Shannon on my timeline and I look up to her as a blogger so much! Definitely run over and check out her blog!

Quote of the Month

1 thought on “Month In Review + Obsession Confessions | September 2016”

  1. I totally agree that a quiet blog shows a hectic life. And hopefully that’s a hectic good life for you! It still looks like you got quite a bit of reading and reviewing done 🙂

    I’m working on trying to give myself a break for not keeping my own blogging deadlines because some times life just lifes all over you.

    Good luck balancing everything 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

