fun, Uncategorized

Obsession Confession |Empowering, Light, And…Slightly Creepy???

Hey y’all! It’s Lila! And it’s also Monday again and you know what that means? It means that there’s a whole week ahead of us, full of possibility! Isn’t that great? I thinks so! But it also means that it’s time for Obsession Confession! That’s right folks! I’ve decided I have so many confessions about recent obsessions that I need to make this segment weekly! Definitely let me know what you think about the change!

Anyhoo. Where was I? Oh, yeah–recent obsessions! As it turns out, I have quite a few! So kick back, relax, and prepare to be introduced to get obsessed!

Books

25982692

You know what we need right about now? Some real empowering reads! I suggest DC Comics: Bombshells Vol. 1 Enlisted as a great place to start if you’re a female looking to be empowered! Bombshells takes all of the female DC superheroes (and villains) and puts them in the middle of World War II. It’s empowering in and of itself, but the real life fact that WWII was the first war in which American women were allowed to fight add an extra layer of awesomeness! I haven’t gotten too far into Bombshells, but already I’m loving it. The art is very modern, youthful, and accessible and the story is really interesting (although the dialog is still classic comic book cheesy). It’s a great read and I highly suggest it, especially if you’re in need of something uplifting!

Music


Another thing we need of late? Happy, light, feel good music! And this song, “Call On Me,” is definitely that! This song not only has an easy breezy pop rhythm and beat, but also has really uplifting lyrics. The song makes me feel a little less alone so I hope it does the same for you!

Movies/TV/Trailers


We got not one but two great full trailers this passed week and they have me pumped! First, we got the first official full trailer for Netflix’s A Series of Unfortunate Events and can I just take a moment to squeal? Because it looks absolutely amazing! Already I can tell that I’m gonna love Neil Patrick Harris’s version of Count Olaf! Also the aesthetic is perfect! It’s exactly how I imagined it as a kid! I am officially excited for this show.

Next, we got the official full length trailer for the movie adaptation of Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall. I have to say, I’ve never read Before I Fall, but this trailer has me really interested and definitely put this film on my radar! It reminds me a bit of If I Stay, especially with the whole color palette and aesthetic, but that makes me interested in how  the filmmakers will make the film different.

News Clip

Exciting news for fans of Veronica Roth–her short story Inertia, which appears in the YA anthology Summer Days And Summer Nights looks like it may become a movie! I loved Roth’s Divergent, but I wasn’t a major fan of Insurgent and Allegiant. I have yet to read Inertia, though I’ve heard that it’s good! Here’s to hoping for better luck with this adaptation, though!

Around The Blogosphere/Vlogoshere

I started blog hopping again of late and I have to say y’all are putting out some stellar content! One of my favorite recent posts, though, comes from Ashleigh at A Frolic Through Fiction! Her post on unanswered book questions was absolutely brilliant and hilarious! Well done, Ashleigh!

And Lastly…A Little Laughter!

For the past 2 weeks, Americans have been coming to terms with the fact that this is the passing of an era. Many things are to come, but many things are also going. One of the hardest things/people to let go of is Uncle Joe. “Who is Uncle Joe?” you non-Americans may be asking. I’m so glad you asked! See, Uncle Joe is what we’ve effectively renamed our lovable vice president, Joe Biden.

Joe Biden and Barack Obama have quite the bromance going on, you see. Biden has even gone on record multiple times as saying he believes that he and Obama have the closest relationships of any President/Vice President duo in American history! Biden’s made a name for himself by coming off as the adorably goofy man n the duo. And, well, let’s just say us American youth have taken that persona and run with it, creating the adorable “Uncle Joe meme,” which depicts how we think some president-vice president moments went down.

Anyhoo. We’ll be sad to see Uncle Joe go. And, as we imagine it, Uncle Joe hasn’t been taking the transition too well either. So Uncle Joe’s back at it again with his tricks, this time aimed at his ultimate foes, President-Elect Donald Trump and Vice President-Elect Mike Pence! As we the people imagine it, Joe’s been stirring up quite a bit of trouble at the White House! We’ve created thousands of hysterical scenarios, but here’s one of my personal favorite moments…(a little context: let’s just say that Pence is kind of the antichrist when it comes to lgbt+ rights…)

 

3 thoughts on “Obsession Confession |Empowering, Light, And…Slightly Creepy???”

  1. Ah yay thank you for featuring my unanswered book questions post! I’m glad you liked it 🙂 Also, I’m SO EXCITED for A Series Of Unfortunate Events too, the new trailer makes it look incredible!

    Like

  2. Love that obsession list and so excited to see the Before I Fall Trailer. Plus there’s a story by V. Roth that will get the movie treatment. So excited. Plus I want big payback for Lauren Oliver’s Delirium not being made into a movie but instead some crappy pilot. Still steamed about that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

