fun, Uncategorized

How To Amuse Yourself In The Midst Of A Catastrophically Massive Reading Slump

Hey y’all, it’s Lila! If you weren’t aware, I am in the midst of the worst reading slump of my entire  life! I’m not even being dramatic! It began around September and has yet to release me from its grips! So since I’ve been in a reading slump for so ridiculously long, I’ve had to adapt a bit and learn how to entertain myself outside of books. I figured I’d share some of the ways you can keep yourself busy if you too are in the midst of a hellish book slump…

Binge On Movies And TV

ashley-benson-pretty-little-liars-hanna-watching-tv

Okay, I feel like this is an obvious one but Imma use it anyway! Binge watching TV and movies is the perfect activity to fill your time during a reading slump! After all, if one form of entertainment media isn’t working for you, why not try another? And if you like it, why not fill all your time with it, right?! Binge away, friends, binge away!

Discover Some New Music

jzvj6uj

As y’all know, I’m a musician, so most of my biggest activities involve, uh, ya know, music. I’m the type of person who can sit just listening to music for a good long while. Now, I get it, this type of “activity” probably doesn’t appeal to most people who aren’t musicians. BUT! Part of the process involves surfing Spotify and Amazon for new music! I love discovering new artists and new sounds! It’s super fun! I highly suggest going on Spotify to the “radio” section, selecting one of your favorite artists and seeing what plays! This is a great way to fill your time!

Listen To Podcasts

tumblr_n5hyh4dp2s1qzyvtfo1_500

One thing I’ve gotten into since The Great Slump of ’16 began is podcasts. I especially like entertainment podcasts (ones centering around entertainment news)! I really like hearing people’s opinion on and theories about the latest episodes of TV shows or movies or books. It feels like I’m having a conversation with good friends!…Wow. That made me sound like a really lonely person, lol. But anyway! Back to the subject–podcasts! Podcasts that I’ve become a regular listener of include any of Hypable’s podcasts and Adventures in YA. Those podcasts are great places to start if you’re new to the medium–or if you’re an old fan, looking for something new!!

Do Some Crafting

craft-gif

I’m also a pretty artsy person, so I love doing crafts like collage making and jewelry making. Now, those crafts (especially jewelry making), might sound kinda intense and difficult, but the great thing about crafts is that you can start at your level and there are a plethora of “how to” videos on YouTube! Maybe you’re interested in learning how to knit or decorating your jewelry box or something else entirely–YouTube’s got ya covered, friends! With millions of projects filling your days, you’ll have little time to even think about books!

If You Must Read, Try Comics/Graphic Novels

giphy-47

Sometimes in the midst of a reading slump you get the itch to read, but you don’t want to commit to a novel, especially since you may be prone to simply put it down in the middle of it for no good reason whatsoever. Comics and graphic novels are your best friends in this case! I often say that comics/graphic novels are like adult picture books. They offer the full story of a regular novel but with simpler language (generally) and aided by full page pictures/picture sequences. This means that they’re easy to get immersed in and they fly by when you’re reading them! What more could you ask for during a reading slump, friends? Hint: nothing.

So those are my suggestions for how to entertain yourself during a reading slump! How do you entertain yourself during a reading slump? Let me know in the comments!

8 thoughts on “How To Amuse Yourself In The Midst Of A Catastrophically Massive Reading Slump”

  1. I try to watch TV when I’m in a slump but I have a hard time motivating myself. But I do make a good dent in my TV/movie watching.

    I do a lot of blog upkeep when I’m in a slump. I get weirdly motivated to write all of these posts when I can’t get into my reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are very good suggestions. I am in a little bit of a slump at the moment, and it’s sooooo annoying! I am re-reading my favourite books and watching a lot of shows/movies. I’ve actually got some comics at home, I forgot about that! I will give those a go and hopefully that will help. Awesome post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post, Lila! These are awesome suggestions! Music is a constant for me, but it especially helps when I’m in slumps same as comics and graphic novels! They’re usually my go-to. I know the slump is really bad when I resort to binge watching Netflix/movies, because that is something I rarely ever do haha. It does help though!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post, but sorry that you’ve been in a slump for so long 😦 I also binge watch A LOT of tv shows when I’m slumping, it’s the perfect way to kill the time hahaha and yessss to crafting and jewelry making!! I do them too and they’re easy because you could just open pinterest or youtube and all the tutorials are there. Thought sometimes I go overboard and buy more craft supplies than I actually need 🙈 re-reading old favorites, mostly contemporaries, also help me get out of the reading slump!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

