fun, Lila, Uncategorized

Obsession Confession | The 100 Borders of Bookish Shame

Ah! Another week in the life of a 22 year old mad woman has passed me by! And, of course, that week brought said madwoman (i.e. me) many new obsessions. Let’s see what’s been occupying this particular madwoman’s mind…

Books

*hangs head in shame*

Um…Sooooo…I have a confession…This past week my reading slump majorly caught up with me and…Welllll…I haven’t read anything so I don’t have any books to recommend *winces*…I KNOW I’M A BAD BOOK BLOGGER, OKAY?!!! DON’T LOOK AT ME LIKE THAT!!! *flees to hide in shame*

Music


I love absolutely everything about this song! From the soprano women’s choir part to the old school guitar melody slowly winding through the song to the rumble of the singer’s voice on the low notes! It’s a gorgeous, genre-mixing song and I just can’t get enough of it!

Movies/TV/Trailers

I swear when I saw that The 100‘s season 4 trailer had dropped I fangirled so hard! BECAUSE IT’S COMING BACK SOON!!! This trailer promises more darkness, death, destruction, tough decisions, and moral complexity–so, ya know, the usual! It seemed like the revelatioin at the end of season 3 left the group in a seriously tough spot and there’s no telling how they’re gonna get out of it this time!

News Clip

So do you remember that incredible, insanely amazing standalone book I was talking about called The Diabolic? Written by S.J. Kincaid? Has a giant red and metal, part clockwork butterfly on th cover? WELL IF YA DON’T REMEMBER, I’M GONNA TELL YA NOW: IT’S AMAZING AND YOU NEED TO READ IT!!!!

Ahem. Anyhoo

The big news this week is that…THE DIABOLIC IS BECOMING A SERIES AND THERE ARE GOING TO BE TWO (!) MORE BOOKS SURROUNDING NEMESIS!!!! Yippee!!! Hooray! *explodes in joy*

You can check out the official announcement here and see S.J. Kincaid’s blog post about the news here! *squeals giddily* Eeeeee! I’m so excited!!!

Around The Blogosphere/Vlogosphere

After this past week’s dust up over Book Expo (formerly known as “Book Expo America”) raising ticket fees for bloggers on top of asking bloggers to complete a (ridiculous) application, Ashleigh over at A Frolic Through Fiction posted her take on the situation in her post “Should Publishers Do More To Acknowledge The Work Of Book Bloggers?” As a non-US resident who could never have attended BE[A] for that reason, Ashleigh provided a great new perspective. Her post made me think things over and look at the issue in new ways!

On a lighter note, Cait over at Paper Fury has created a hilarious (as per usual) quiz to discover what type of book blogger you are! Head on over and take the quiz–it’s a great time!

Other Obsessions

So a few weeks ago, I decided to check out what all the buzz was about when it comes to book inspired candles. Big mistake. For my wallet, that it. Why? Because you can now consider me a full-fledged bookish candle addict. I love the idea of taking the scents of your favorite books or settings or characters and putting them into a candle! I already tried out a candle inspired by Kestrel from The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski and just ordered a candle inspired by Manon from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas! If you’re either a fan of the classics or a fan of YA, then you’re majorly in luck when it comes to bookish candles! Some of my favorite shops that sell bookish candles (most of them YA book inspired) are Novelly Yours, Meraki Candles, and The Melting Library!

I also “rediscovered” Society6! Let’s just say this booknerd died and went to heaven upon seeing all of the book inspired merch on there! Posters and tees and blankets and prints and pouches and so much more!!! R.I.P. wallet. I finally broke down the other day and bought a mini print after ogling it for a good while. Some of my fave Society6 shops are Evie Seo, Read At Midnight, and Paper Fury!

1 thought on “Obsession Confession | The 100 Borders of Bookish Shame”

  1. Thank you so much for sharing my post! I’m glad I could show you another side to the whole BE[A] situation, being someone who wouldn’t have gone anyway 🙂
    I hope you manage to kick your reading slump soon!
    (P.S. Not reading anything doesn’t make you a bad blogger. Trust me on that one! You’re nailing it, don’t you worry)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

