Claire, Uncategorized

Claire’s 2016 End of the Year Book Survey

Thank you to Maggie for telling me about The Perpetual Page-Turner’s End of the Year Book Survey! Filling this out was a lot of fun and gave me the opportunity to both reflect what I’ve read this year and also got me excited for what’s to come in 2017! This post is pretty long, so I’m putting everything under the cut.

Happy (almost) New Year, everyone! Good riddance to 2016!

2016readingstats

# Books Read:

105 and counting! I’m going to try and break my record last year, 107.

# Books Reread:

Alas, Goodreads why don’t you have an option to keep track of when you reread a book??? I know I reread something but the only thing I can remember is reading the seventh Harry Potter for the 12039821308th time, but the first time in French.

Most Read Genre:

I’m going to take a wild stab in the dark and say fantasy.

BestInBooks.jpg

  1. Best book you read in 2016?

    As impossible as it is to just choose one best book, I’ll go with Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel. The audiobook was one of the best I’ve ever listened to and the story stuck with me a long time after reading it.

  2. Book you were excited about and thought you were going to love more but didn’t?

    Captive Prince by C. S. Pacat. I heard so much hype from reviewers and vloggers about this m/m erotica-fantasy novel, but found it sorely lacking in both departments.

  3. Most surprising book you read?

    I can’t remember what led to me borrowing Bird Box by Josh Malerman from the library, but I do remember how shocked I was that this book was actually able to make me feel scared. I was on the edge of my seat while reading it and purposefully only read it when other people were around because it made my heart race so much.

  4. Book you “pushed” the most people  to read (and they did)?

    I convinced 3 of my guy friends to read The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss, and so far 2/3 have both finished that book and started the sequel. As for my third friend… *cracks knuckles*.

  5. Best series you started in 2016? Best sequel of 2016? Best series ender of 2016?

    Series started: Saga by Brian K Vaughan and illustrated by Fiona Staples (also gets the award for best series middle)
    Sequel: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas (a no-brainer)
    Series ender: The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson (when some Big Reveals happened at the end, I literally started pacing my apartment making incoherent sounds of disbelief and awe)

  6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

    Sarah MacLean, author of the incredible but strangely titled One Good Earl Deserves a Lover.

  7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

    See #6. Before this year, I had never read any romance novels and honestly looked down on them. Well, I was very wrong in my presumptions and ended up reading 9 of them this year and will read even more next year. One Good Earl Deserves a Lover was completely outstanding not just as a romance novel but as a book in general–it was pretty much my ideal read.

  8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

    There’s a lot that could fill this category, but I’ll go with Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. Not only was there so much going on plot wise, but the style of storytelling and visual appeal of this book’s pages made it a quick and engrossing read. Apparently I read this over the course of five days, but quite frankly I’m surprised I didn’t devour it in one sitting.

  9. Book you read in 2016 that you are most likely to re-read next year?

    Lately I haven’t been rereading books that often–I find that there’s just so many books on my TBR that I want to read/so many unread books I have access to via libraries and my Scribd subscription that I have trouble justifying rereading. Although I didn’t read these in 2016, I do plan on rereading both Harry Potter and Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone series next year.

  10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

    Hmm. A tie between Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo.

  11. Most memorable character of 2016?

    I would say Inej Ghafa from Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom, but since I read the first of the series in 2015 I’ll go instead with Lada Dradwlya from And I Darken by Kiersten White. My only wish is that this book wasn’t YA so we could get an even grittier Lada!

  12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

    I didn’t really read any books with flowery language this year. So I’m going to cheat and say Saga by Brian K Vaughan and Fiona Staples, due to her amazing illustrations.

  13. Most thought-provoking/life-changing book of 2016?

    The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky and Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy. This is less for the books themselves, and more for my Russian Literature class discussions while reading them.

  14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read?

    The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls. I’ve had this book for a looong time.

  15. Favorite passage/quote from a book you read in 2016?

    Since so many of the ebooks are read are from libraries, I don’t have access to my highlighted quotes. 😦 One (very lacking context) passage that made me lol from Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett:
    “The kraken stirs. And ten billion sushi dinners cry out for vengeance.”

  16. Shortest and longest book you read in 2016?

    Shortest: Please Remain Calm by Courtney Summers (96 pages)
    Longest: The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson (1258 pages)

  17. Book that shocked you the most?

    The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson. *makes explosion sounds while gesturing with my fingers away from my head*

  18. OTP of the year?

    KANEJ. ❤ ❤ ❤

  19. Favorite non-romantic relationship of the year?

    Blue Sargent and Ronan Lynch. Granted I started reading this series years ago, but they’re still one of my favorite platonic relationships ever. Also, THIS SCENE:
    blueronan

  20. Favorite book you read in 2016 from an author you’ve read previously?

    A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas. In my opinion, this was leagues better than any of her other books.

  21. Best book you read in 2016 that you read based SOLELY on a recommendation from somebody else?

    Saga by Brian K Vaughan, illustrated by Fiona Staples. Thank you Lila for the recommendation!!

  22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

    Well I’ve had a fictional crush on Rhysand from SJMaas’s ACOTAR series since I read ACOTAR (honestly the redeeming factor of that book for me), but ACOMAF took that crush and made it into a complete infatuated obsession.

  23. Best 2016 debut you read?

    Ahh I’m not sure which of the books I’ve read were debuts, so I’ll just say The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo by Amy Schumer. Funny, relatable, but also poignant at times.

  24. Best worldbuilding/most vivid setting you read this year?

    Both the Stillness from N. K. Jemisin’s The Fifth Season and Roshar from Brandon Sanderson’s The Way of Kings. The Stillness, because Jemisin puts such effort into creating a unique and diverse world; Roshar, because Sanderson is a master at creating complex magical worlds and leaving tiny breadcrumbs for readers to divine the hidden stories of his books.

  25. Book that put a smile on your face/was the most FUN to read?

    Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh. At times this book was a painful reflection of reality, but THE DOG PORTIONS. SO FUNNY AND RELATABLE THAT I CRIED FROM LAUGHING SO HARD.

  26. Book that made you cry in 2016?

    See #25.

  27. Hidden gem of the year?

    This came out in 2008, but Cracked Up to Be by Courtney Summers was an unexpectedly poignant and relatable YA contemporary.

  28. Book that crushed your soul?

    Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas. That ending was Rude.

  29. Most unique book you read in 2016?

    All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders. As I said in my Goodreads review, I’m not quite sure how to classify this novel.

  30. Book that made you the most mad?

    Pretty much all of the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning. Obsessive, possessive, and violent assholes just don’t do it for me.

2016blogging

Meep. I am still not nearly as active in the book blogging community as I’d like to be, so this section might be a little sparse.

  1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

    I really love the booktuber A Clockwork Reader.

  2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

    The Fifth Season by N. K. Jemisin

  3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

    Well, the only one I have had on this particular blog was my sci-fi recommendation list. (I will be better next year!)

  4. Best event that you participated in?

    *crickets*

  5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

    Starting a co-blog with Lila (The Book Conversion, RIP) and then coming to co-blog on here!

  6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

    Finding the time and motivation to post while juggling school and job searches.

  7. Most popular post this year on your blog?

    See #3, my only post on this blog thus far.

  8. Post you wished got a little more love?

    *crickets* I WILL POST MORE IN 2017!!

  9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc)?

    I have library accounts in two different cities and was using one of my library cards for access to Hoopla. Turns out, the other card has a much bigger selection of ebooks and also has access to comic books! (Thank you Lila for telling me about this.)

  10. Did you complete and reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of the year?

    Yes! My goal was to read 100 books this year and I am currently at 105!

2016lookingahead

  1. One book you didn’t get to in 2016 but will be your #1 priority in 2017?

    I have been meaning to read IQ84The Things They CarriedAtonement, and The Devil in the White City for YEARS. I have started reading each of these at multiple times but have never made it past the first few chapters.

  2. Book you are most anticipating for 2017 (non-debut)?

    Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor. Her Daughter of Smoke and Bone series remains one of my favorite of all time.

  3. 2017 debut you are most anticipating?

    Caraval by Stephanie Garber. I loved The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, and it seems like this book has a similar vibe!

  4. Series ending/a sequel you are most anticipating in 2017?

    A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas (I see what you did there, just choosing words so you could get the acronym ACOWAR.)

  5. One thing you hope to accomplish or do in your reading/blogging life in 2017?

    BLOG MORE!

  6. A 2017 release you’ve already read and recommend to everyone?

    None. I do not have such privileges.

 

14 thoughts on “Claire’s 2016 End of the Year Book Survey”

  1. So many of these books I have yet to read 😦 Bird box sounds incredible. I’ve seen so many great reviews, but I haven’t been in the mood to read it (how???) Next year, it will be mine.
    Atonement is that kind of book that you hug and bawl your eyes out to but 5 minutes later you’re ripping out every page and burning it. Spoiler alert: You’ll probably want to throw it at a wall after most chapters.
    I wish I could say more but all your books I either haven’t read yet or don’t plan to. But congrats on having a great reading year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I’d love to hear your opinion of Bird Box if you get around to reading it. As for Atonement, I’ve seen the movie (and therefore know the ending) which is why it’s taken me so long to read. It’s such a beautiful (but absolutely heartbreaking) story!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m very happy my co-blogger Maggie showed me this survey. It’s a really good way to reflect on a year of reading.
      Blue and Ronan make such a good duo. My only wish is that there were more scenes with the two of them. 😥

      Like

  2. As I am reading through your survey, I realized how many more books I need to read! I have to do a re-read of Illuminae because my first time reading it was an eARC and it lacked images. Can you believe that? I have a hard time re-reading as well. However, I do think that the Harry Potter series would be great to start again with! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

