challenges, Maggie

Challenged | Maggie’s Lofty 2017 Reading Goals

There is no shortage of reading challenges taking place in 2017 – so many lasting throughout the year are already cropping up all around blog land!

Although I historically am not too hot at actually completing challenges for which I sign up, I absolutely adore starting with a clean reading slate each year. Maybe 2017 will be the ‘Year of the Book’ for me!

Originally, I hadn’t planned on extending my participation beyond the Goodreads challenge; however, it’s too hard to resist signing up for ALL the amazing challenges!

While I enjoy mini reading challenges throughout the year, where I can deviate from my 365-day lists and sort of fly by the seat of my pants, those permitting participants the entire year to finish are the best.

Maggie’s 2017 Reading Challenges

2017hwlogo-1024x1024

Hosted by Michelle at Because Reading and Berls from Fantasy is More Fun, the annual Reading Assignment Challenge is among my favorites and one of the toughest to complete [nope, I’ve never met my goal for this one!].

The Rules

  • The challenge begins January 1 and ends December 31; sign-ups are open through July 1
  • You may participate ONLY during the months AFTER you sign up
  • Commit to reading X number of specific books each month
  • You may read any genre in any format, as long as the books you choose were published prior to January 1, 2017 and are a minimum of 100 pages
  • Grade yourself each quarter and link up!

The Levels

  • #1 – 12 books/1 book per month
  • #2 – 24 books/2 books per month
  • #3 – 36 books/3 books per month
  • #4 – 48 books/4 books per month

I’m going to go easy this year and pledge to read one planned book each month or 12 assigned-to-myself books.

Last time I did this challenge I went for level four and miserably failed!

I love that the hosts have tweaked the rules to allow for DNFs to count toward participants’ totals this year!

My List

JanuaryThe Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan

FebruaryHeartless by Marissa Meyer

MarchTruthwitch by Susan Dennard

AprilThe Rival Queens by Nancy Goldstone

MayAnna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

JuneEmma by Jane Austen

JulyThrone of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

AugustThe Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

SeptemberFlowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews

OctoberThe Princess Bride by William Goldman

NovemberA Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

DecemberGone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

krc-2017

Claudia at My Soul Called Life is hosting the 2017 Keyword Reading Challenge! I just stumbled across this annual challenge recently and I’m so excited to participate!

For the challenge, Claudia has chosen six keywords for each upcoming month. The point is to read one book whose title utilizes at least one of the words associated with each month.

The Keywords

JanuaryCourt, Fall, of, Way, Deep, Thousand

Februaryand, Rose, Promise, Every, Deception, Blazing

MarchShall, Go, by, Silence, Her, Saga

Aprilfrom, Trigger, Tale, His, Crown, Mist

MayFour, Wind, All, Fury, Days, Shade

JuneWithout, Know, Good, Watch, One, Have

JulyBefore, Final, All, Freedom, Life, Dream

AugustSun, Infinite, Big, My, Wherever, Most

SeptemberSand, from, between, Ever, Reasons, Clash

OctoberDarker, You, Ashes, Out, House, Sea

NovemberPlace, War, Heart, Why, Give, Meet

DecemberForget, Twilight, Only, Crystal, on, Will

I’m going to do my best to stick to a set list for this challenge as well. I’m just too excited about choosing titles based on the keywords! I’m going to attempt to be creative when it comes to picking what I’m going to read, but we’ll see what I come up with!

My List

JanuaryA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

February

March

AprilThe Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

MayTo All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

JuneGo Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

JulyAll the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

AugustBig Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert

September

OctoberFallout by Gwenda Bond

November

DecemberThe Forgetting by Sharon Cameron

shelf_love_2017_250x250

I couldn’t resist enrolling in the Shelf Love Challenge, hosted by Second Run Reviews and ChapterBreak.net! P.S. I β™₯ the title of this challenge! πŸ˜€

The Rules

  • Read books in your personal library that were obtained prior to January 1, 2017
  • Library books do not count toward your goal

Simple, right?!

The Levels

  • 1-10 books – shake hands with your shelves
  • 11-20 books – pat your shelves on the back
  • 21-30 books – give your shelves a warm, friendly hug
  • 31-40 books – regular date night with your shelves
  • 41-50 books – my shelves are now my BFF
  • 51+ books – my shelves and I are going steady

While I really want to go steady with my bookshelves, I know there is little chance that I will seriously read 51 books I already own in the coming year!

So, to keep my goal attainable, I’m choosing to read 11 to 20 books already in my personal library, meaning if I succeed in my endeavor that I will get to give my shelves a good old pat on the back!

I think limiting myself to three year-long challenges shall suffice! Wish me luck regarding my being a reading superstar in 2017! Good luck to all of y’all who are also tackling reading challenges this year! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

shabbyblogscomments

14 thoughts on “Challenged | Maggie’s Lofty 2017 Reading Goals”

  1. I’m doing two year long challenges, one I created and Beat the Backlist. And then a lot of times readathons have reading challenges to go along with them. Good luck with your challenges!

    Like

    1. Awesome!!! I’m excited to participate in all of these challenges this year! Hopefully, I’ll complete them! LOL! Have fun with your challenges – I’m thrilled I could introduce them to you! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great choice with the Princess Bride! One of my all time favourite novels! (And one of the best movie adaptions ever!)

    I did the keyword challenge 2 years ago and had a blast with it! Good luck!

    I’m doing ShelfLove this year too and am really excited to get some of those books off my shelf and read!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I absolutely adore The Princess Bride movie and I’m so excited for the book! I’m loving the keyword challenge – it’s fun trying to think of books that fit each month’s category! I’m excited about Shelf Love too – I’ve got to pare down my TBR List! LOL! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love The Princess Bride! Haven’t read the book, but the movie is the best. Good luck on your challenges this year! πŸ™‚ ~Aleen

    Like

Leave a Reply

