fun, Lila

Obsession Confession | There Is *Literally* No Way I Can Configure These Words Into a Sensible Title…

Of course I’m late again! Y’all should just expect this by now!

Books

caraval

This book, people! This book…is pure magic! But really! This book is absolutely enchanting! It’s just so…*melts*. Let’s just say it’s a wondrous blend of Laini Taylor, The Night Circus, and a certain, special, magical je ne sais quoi! I haven’t been swept up in a book like I am with this one in a looooooong time! Oh yeah. Caraval is quite a treat!

24763621

So I also started Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones and oh my god. Guys. This book is so intense and dark and sexy. And it’s so good. So there’s been a lot of buzz around this book because it’s said to have drawn a lot of inspiration from the movie Labyrinth. I actually loathe Labyrinth, but there was so much hype that I was like, “Fine, fine, fine! I’ll read it!” Turns out that was a good decision because I love this book! If you love Hades and Persephone or Beauty and the Beast or A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas, then definitely check out Wintersong! You’ll love it!

Music

So I saw Hidden Figures a few weeks back and I loved the music in it! In particular, I love the song “Runnin'” by Pharrell Williams. The song’s sound is just so sassy and you can’t help but want to start dancing.

So on a much different note (haha, get it? it’s a pun), I’ve also been obsessed with “Drive” by Oh Wonder. I just love the sound of this song, with the trills and the violins and cellos. It’s just so soft and romantic!

So Ed Sheeran came out with new recently and I’ve been loving “Shape of You” by Ed Sheeran. It’s a slightly different sound for him, but I like that he branched out and took a risk, because, in my opinion, it payed off. This sounds kind of like a club hit that Sheeran did a soft cover of, but it works. The song makes me want to sing and dance, so that’s always a good sign!

Movies/TV/Trailers

I saw Hidden Figures about 2 weeks ago and I cannot even begin to describe how much I love the movie. It’s not even that the movie was good–though it was incredible–it’s that it means so much to me. I am a female, Black science major myself and…it just meant so much to see a movie celebrating female, Black scientists. It almost made me cry so many times and I related so much. I just have no words for how much it meant to me.

So The 100 returned for season 4 and I am so freaking excited for it. I have yet to watch the first two episodes yet so no spoilers! I can’t wait to see what’s up with all of my favorite characters, especially after last season’s brutal cliffhanger!

News

 

Marlie Lu tweeted some super exiting news the other day which is that she has a new book set to be released called The Kingdom of Back! The book is a historical fantasy about Mozart and his sister! As a musician and fantasy fan and a fan of Marie Lu, I am so hyped for this book!

In other news, Tahereh Mafi also had some big announcements and they were that the Shatter Me TV adaptation now has a screenwriter and Tahereh now has the script in her hands!

Other Things

I’ve gotten quite into bookstagram (the book community on Instagram) lately. I’ve been working a lot on my photography skills and I’m having a lot of fun setting up photos! I also love seeing everyone’s photos and getting good recs from them! What can I say? It’s a new obsession! If you want to check out my bookstagram, I’m @thebookkeeper5. Leave your username in the comments and I’ll check yours out!

Around The Blogosphere/Vlogosphere

Cait at Paper Fury recently wrote a great post asking if authors should agree with everything they write. Whether or not you agree with her, it’s definitely an interesting post worth reading to the end. It definitely got me thinking.

Laughter Is The Best Medicine

In the current political climate, Muslims are being given a particularly hard time. But one Muslim young woman decided she was going to have none of that nonsense! I saw this on Twitter, but I forget the name of the young woman who shared it, but this is her hilarious response to someone who asked her “Why can’t Muslims tell other Muslims to stop killing people?”

1

2

3

2 thoughts on “Obsession Confession | There Is *Literally* No Way I Can Configure These Words Into a Sensible Title…”

  1. Ah, I can’t wait for Marie Lu’s new book! Thanks for informing me about it 🙂 I also love the last post you shared about laughing! It was really fun to read, especially since I’m Muslim-American myself haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

