Obsession Confession | Humans Ascend On A Journal

Hello, hello, helloooooo, ducklings! How art thou on this fin spring day? I hope y’all are well! It’s time for this week’s installment of Obsession Confession! So many obsessions, so many confessions! Let’s see what we have…

Books

And once again, we have a week where I don’t have a featured book. Which is not to say that I haven’t been reading! The issue is that, after finishing Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones and The Valiant by Lesley Livingston (which are two vastly different, yet equally amazing books that you totally need to read!), I have been starting books, but not loving them enough to stick with them. *sighhhhhhhh…*

Music


I’ve been rocking out to “Human Touch” by Betty Who for the past week! The song is such a fun tune that’s easy to dance to and sing along with! In fact, I dare you not to do just that when listening to this song!

Movies/TV/Trailers

Recently I got into Syfy’s Ascension! The show was cancelled, but I’m loving watching the first (and only) season on Netflix. I love the mmystery and the science and the stark contrast between life on the spaceship–which is like a snapshot of the 1960s–and life on Earth–which has progressed forward. It’s a fun show full of intrigue and politics and I recommend giving it a chance, especially if you enjoy sci fi mysteries!

Other

I’ve recently really gotten into creative journaling, a fact which is completely hilarious to me as I’ve never been much of a journaling person. But. I’ve always loved collaging and I’ve always loved writing essays, especially taking a prompt and twisting it to write my own story and I also love how people personalize their bullet journals. So I took those ideas and kind of smashed them all together to create a personalized journal! Of course, I wasn’t the first one to have thought something like this up. I searched the tags #creativejournal and #creativejournaling on Instagram and I’ve been getting ideas from all of these stunning journals that people have created! I also looked up “journal challenges” on Tumblr and found some awesome prompts! So I’ve been doing some creative journaling for the past week and a half and I really love it!

News

Big bookish news came this past week when Marissa Meyer announced the title and release date of her new book, which I can officially say is going to be called Renegades! The book will be available in digital, print, and audio format on November 7, 2017. Renegades also is now available for pre-order on Audible! I’m super excited for this book! I loved The Lunar Chronicles, though I wasn’t a major fan of Heartless. However.am really interested in this book in that it’s Meyer’s first book that’s not a retelling (as far as I know) and I’m interested in seeing how she crafts a story that’s all her own! I have faith that she can pull it off, but I guess we’ll see!

Around The Blogosphere/Vlogosphere

Kaja at Of Dragons And Hearts had a neat post on loving shifty characters. I was drawn to the post because I didn’t quite know what Kaja meant by a “shifty character.” To my surprise, I discovered that I too am a big fan of the “shifty character”! So naturally, I loved the post!

Laughing The Pain Away

So this week’s bit of laughter is a little personal for me. Those of you who have been here for a good while probably know three things about me: 1) I attend the #13 best university in the United States, 2) I study biology and physics, and 3) I have horrible academic anxiety that I am currently working through/slowly recovering from. Those things do not spell happiness for me, but I’m leaning to be happy anyway. Part of learning to be happy is learning how to laugh at certain situations and realize that I’m not alone. As a science student at a top university, I’m constantly around people who have accomplished major things. And me? I’ve done…nothing. Really. I’ve been on two medical leaves. That’s it. So I always feel like I’m alone and everyone is better than me. My therapists are always trying to convince me that everyone feels that way, but I wasn’t so sure. I wasn’t so sure until I saw the comic below by Cassandra Cain. It made me laugh, but even more, it made me feel less alone. And slowly, the pain died a little more. So this ones for all y’all with anxiety, academic or otherwise. You’re never alone ❤

tumblr_ol8fr9bcfj1tcbp8vo1_500

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I didn’t realise Marissa Meyer was releasing a new book! And it’s entirely her own, omg I’m so excited 😀 Nice post by the way 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG I need to see ascension, how did I not know it existed?!

    Like

  3. Oooh Ascension sounds really interesting! There’s too many TV shows I need to catch up on, haha. I totally feel you with the anxiety issue. My entire education has suffered because of my anxiety and panic disorder. I finally finished a course a couple years back, but it’s hard not to compare myself to more successful people especially considering my age. Then I see like 20 year olds who are doing so much and I”m like “I managed to brush my hair this morning?” haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

