The Costume Chest | Wintersong

Ladies and gentlemen and those who identify as both or neither, folks of all ages, welcome back to The Costume Chest! Long time no see! It’s been quite a while since I’ve made an installment in this segment, but I figured it was time to bring it back! For those of you who are relatively new around here, The Costume Chest is a segment ni which I put together a wardrobe based on a book, kind of like if the book was a film and I was the costume designer! For me, reading is an immersive experience, and doing segments such as The Costume Chest and this segment’s sister segment, The Travel Guide, really helps the book come to life for me (and, hopefully, for you too!). Anyhoo, let’s get started!

This week’s featured book is one which I recently read and absolutely lovedWintersong by S. Jae-Jones! I was able to easily imagine the clothing of Jae-Jones’s world largely due to the author’s spectacular world building, along with the fact that the book is set roughly in 18th century Bavaria. This provided a whole world of inspiration. I wanted to capture the gaudy feel of the era, but also the rich, dark tones of The Goblin King’s underworld.

3 thoughts on “The Costume Chest | Wintersong

Leave a Reply

