Obsession Confession | Amour! Amour! Can You Give Me 13 Reasons Why I Should Be A Believer In Adult Coloring Books?

Howdy, folks! Welcome to Obsession Confession, the segment in which I divulge all of my latest obsessions! This week was totally packed with obsessions, so let’s get straight to it!

Books

22888864

I’m currently reading Amour Amour by Krista and Becca Ritchie and, surprisingly enough, I’m actually enjoying it! I’ll say here what I said in one of my Goodreads updates for this book: there’s definitely some eye roll worthy cheesiness in [this book,] but i’ll be darned if i don’t love me some good cheese when the fancy strikes me! And at the moment the fancy has struck!

Music

Imagine Dragons recently released  a new song called “Believer” and I’ve been loving it! I’ve been an Imagine Dragons fan since I was a teen so I was really excited to hear they’d released a new song!

Movies/TV/Trailers

The full length trailer for 13 Reasons Why was released and I am so intrigued. I haven’t read the book, but I have the gist and from what I’ve heard, the show looks like it’s faithful to the books, yet also looks like it’s making the story much darker and grittier and more mysterious. I’m interested to see what Netflix does with the show. Whether or not it’s faithful to the book, I have no doubt that I’ll love it!

Other Stuff

unnamed (30)

When I discovered the beautiful and super popular Lost Ocean adult coloring book on Book Outlet, I snapped it up as fast as I could. “Adult coloring books” have become quite the fad in the past year and a half, but I never got in on the trend until now. A lot o people said they were good for anxiety, but I was skeptical, given that my anxiety is driven by a deep perfectionistic streak. Interestingly enough, I was wrong and I do find coloring really therapeutic! I’ve been enjoying coloring while listening to audiobooks or half-watching booktube and it’s really fun! It really takes me back to fun times in my childhood. So, yeah. Adult coloring books have my official seal of approval!

News

Before I Fall made its way to the big screen this past week! I haven’t seen it, but it does look pretty good (though I’m cautious after being burned one to many times by YA adaptations). I’m still on the fence as to if I want to see the film, though, so if you happen to have seen it, definitely let me know what you think.

Around The Blogosphere/Vlogosphere

This past week I really enjoyed Jo’s post on actual YAs in the YA community. Sometimes I think there are so many adults in the YA community that we forget who it’s really for. I especially feel this way of late, as I feel that there’s been a lot of hostility in the YA community lately. From all sides. I loved Jo’s post because she decided to see how actual teens felt about the YA community. Head over to her post to see what she discovered!

Light Up Your Life With Some Laughter!

screenshot-935

4 thoughts on “Obsession Confession | Amour! Amour! Can You Give Me 13 Reasons Why I Should Be A Believer In Adult Coloring Books?

  1. Ooh I need to listen to the Imagine Dragons song! I didn’t even know they’d released a new one. Oops. Also, I’m super excited and nervous for 13 Reasons Why haha. I feel a lot less worried because it’s a Netflix adaption, but it was such an important book for me I can’t help but be a little hesitant. Hopefully it’s all good though!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The song is sooooo good! I didn’t know they’d released it until I saw Hailee’s (at These Book Lions on YouTube) monthly jams video! I’m also nervously excited for 13 Reasons Why but it looks pretty good and it has Jay Asher’s seal of approval. Netflix just released a tiny featurette on it and it looks like they’re taking it seriously so I’m crossing my fingers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

