fun, Lila

Obsession Confession | Blood for Blood Is Just Water Under The Bridge

Hello, friends! How are ya? It’s that time of week again! Time for Obsession Confession, my weekly segment in which I “confess” all of my latest obsessions! This week there’s plenty to get through, so let’s get going!

Books

26864835 (1)

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin was one of my last reads of 2015 and ended up coming #1 on my list of to books I read in 2015. So when Blood for Blood,the sequel and finale to the duology, was released, I snapped it up…Aaaaaand didn’t get to it…until this past week. I think I never got to Blood for Blood because I was waiting for the perfect moment. Anyhow, I decided to bite the bullet and get to it a few days back and…wow. I forgot how much I love this series and Graudin’s writing. Everything about Blood for Blood is perfection, pure and simple. If you haven’t yet checked out this duology, definitely give it a try!

Music

I listened to Adele’s latest pop  ballad,”Water Under The Bridge,” and, predictably, I loved it! There are so many things to love about Adele and her music. I love how she’s managed to evolve as an artist while still staying true to the spirit she began with. I also love that no matter how pop-y her music gets, she maintains that deep thread of emotion in her voice. “Water Under The Bridge” is no different in these respects and also happens to be incredibly singable, a ballad you’d belt out in the car on your way to work. I’m sure it’ll be another great hit under Adele’s belt.

Movies/TV/Trailers

Netflix released a new featurette for their upcoming adaptation of 13 Reasons Why. This short video definitely got me even more interested in the show!

Netflix dropped a trailer for their upcoming adaptation of the beloved manga, Deathnote. I’m not a manga/anime fan, but I do know that Deathnote is incredibly popular, so I figured at least one of y’all would be interested plus the show does look interesting. The only thing that kinda concerns me is the potential whitewashing as I think (And I want to stress that I don’t know and that I may be wrong on this count) the characters are Japanese and the series takes place in Japan? If you do know if the show is whitewashed, please let me know in the comments. Other than that, this looks like your standard A++ Netflix show and I can’t wait to check it out! Who knows, maybe watching the show will encourage me to read the manga series!

News

This is slightly old news now but I can’t believe I forgot to mention that the cover for Marie Lu’s new novel, Warcross, which releases in November, was released! I have kind of mixed feelings on the cover. Many people think it’s beautiful, while others think it looks too basic and simple. I’m pretty in between, but regardless of how the cover looks, I’m super excited for the book! What do you think of the cover? Did you enjoy the sneak peak of the book? Are you excited for Warcross?

In other, more “recent” news, the cover and synopsis for Maggie Stiefvater’s newest novel, All The Crooked Saints, which releases later this year, was released. The book sounds both magical and mysterious, as per usual Stiefvater, and I’m interested in seeing how it pans out.

LOLing

tz

6 thoughts on “Obsession Confession | Blood for Blood Is Just Water Under The Bridge”

  1. I found the trailer for 13 reasons why to miss the mark a little and portray it as more thriller than drama… I loved the book but if I hadn’t read it I would be expecting something different. Don’t get me wrong… I’m totally still gonna watch it! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yeah, i thought that too (i haven’t read the book, but I know the gist). but maybe they’re just hoping the thriller spin will get people interested in an important story? idk, but we’ll see!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really need to read Wolf By Wolf!

    I’m also super excited/nervous for 13 Reasons Why. I’m a little more relaxed with it being on Netflix, but it’s such an important book to me I hope they don’t mess it up. Death Note was one of the first mangas that I read and it was pretty good! It’s a shame that the Netflix series had to be whitewashed because it could have been really awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ah, yes, i’ve since seen that netflix has indeed whitewashed deathnote. *sighs**rubs temples*
      what do you think of 13 reasons why? have you seen it yet? i know it’s an important book to so many, so i hope they get it right!
      and, girl. you have ~got~ to read wolf by wolf! i need someone to fangirl with because the series is A++!

      Like

    1. oooh, i haven’t seen it yet, but this makes me even more eager to! i thik i’ll watch it tonight or tomorrow maybe! i’m glad you liked it! i too am glad books adaptations are popping up on HBO and Netflix, as those networks tend to get it right!

      Like

Leave a Reply

